Cycling for Hope – Day 23

Picnic shenanigans by Andrew Gills
Picnic shenanigans, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do for day 23 until my best friend of almost 29 years called me to organise a picnic together in West End. Given that West End is 50km from my home, this was the perfect plan.

C organised the food (bread and fruit) and I organised the sweets and drink. I rode into town along the South-East Fwy bike way. The sun was shining and a light cool breeze blew to cool the air (it was about 26’C despite it still being winter). The riding was pleasant and I rode a short way with a young lady with a squeaky chain who was trialling a commuting route to her new job.

At Southbank I slowly dodged pedestrians and enjoyed the views. I was early for lunch so stopped to eat ice cream while sitting near the water soaking up the joy of riding in daylight. I only have 8 days of Cycling for Hope left so am making the most of being able to eat whatever I like before I have to start being good again.

I stopped at the West End Markets to look for my contribution to the picnic. It turned out that C was at the same markets so we met up and had our picnic in the dappled shade of a nearby tree. The atmosphere was lovely as we shared olives, strawberries, sour dough baguette, pears, nougart and icy cold fresh lemonade.

After the picnic I rode home, stopping briefly at the man made beach at Southbank Parklands to dangle my feet in the icy cold water. The water was too cold for swimming. You could tell the locals from the tourists. We were dangling our feet in the water while the tourists were actually swimming (our idea of cold is warm for many from temperate climates).

Total: 100.8km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 2,331.9km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

2 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 23

  1. Hmm, pretty sure I would have been swimming! Here it’s the other way round – a bunch of crazy locals swimming even as the water temperature drops below 10ºC, whilst tourists probably wouldn’t even go in mid summer! 😀

Leave a comment