18.2km run

Point O'Halloran near the end of our run

My friends from BRW are training for the Gold Coast Marathon so they have started to do some long runs as part of their training. This morning they are running 18 – 20km and I decide to join them.

We leave the top carpark at Victoria Point at 5am. We are a group of about 10 and I’m the only man. I’m slightly anxious about the run because it’s 4km further than I’ve ever run continuously on bare feet. I know the soles of my feet will be fine for the first 10 – 12km but am concerned that they might start to burn when I hit 15km. I decide not to carry shoes because they are too heavy and I don’t like to wear them.

We set off at a comfortable pace. It takes about 2km to find a rhythm. This is normal for me so I’m unconcerned. As usual I start to feel good as the 2km marker ticks over on my GPS. The run is largely unremarkable. I enjoy running with Sue who has a steady pace and we chat away. Well, to be honest, I probably do most of the chatting because I’m a chatter box. We run along roads, footpaths and grass. There are some hills along the way to challenge us, including a tough run up Boundary Road. We run along suburban streets and busy through-roads. We run past houses and farmland.

The last few kilometres are the nicest part of the run as we reach the waterfront at Point O’Halloran. Rain clouds threaten but continue to move further out to see as boats bob on the water. The king tide is high, making the bay water look inviting.

At 18.2km, just 600m from our cars my feet finally give in. I know that my legs and lungs can keep running but I have now pushed my feet 4km further on the road than ever before and they have been burning for about 1km. I know that I should stop rather than push on to the finish because the extra 600m will probably be the difference between running again on Sunday or needing to stay off my feet for 4-5 days. So I stop running and dip my feet into the soothing salty water.

I’ve entered a half-marathon on 18 March and this run shows that I will be able to make the distance and to do so barefoot.

Total run: 18.2km @ 6:17 min/km pace.

7 responses to “18.2km run

  1. waaw, is it really fun?

    • Yeah 🙂 It was fun 🙂 When I run well it feels like I’m floating and that’s a lovely feeling. I also enjoy the company. There’s an intimacy that you get when you run with people 🙂

  2. There is no way I could run in barefeet let alone for that distance, you are a machine Andrew. Good luck with the half marathon! – Simone

    • I used to train barefoot when I was in school because I liked the feel of the ground beneath my feet. Then I grew up and started wearing shoes – that was when I started getting shin splints too. So when I came back to running after years of ITB syndrome and shin splints I started to get the old injuries again. I read Born to Run in which the author discusses BF running (with Barefoot Ted). I decided to try it out and haven’t looked back since. It’s been a slow process of toughening my feet though – both the soles and the muscles. I hate wearing shoes now.

      But it’s not for everyone. It’s an acquired taste I think 🙂

  3. Pingback: A few days forced rest « Trans Tri

Leave a Reply

