A few days forced rest

I wake on Saturday morning and my left ankle is as swollen as a puffer fish. It hurts when I pull my cycling shoes on and I can’t get my foot out of the pedal without agonising pain. I’m sure cycling was not a good idea. I spend Saturday afternoon limping trying to walk normally on my foot without overcompensating by twisting it to stop the pain. It frustrates me.

The swelling has subsided a bit on Sunday morning. I take a relaxing dip in Settlement Cove lagoon – not laps, just a bit of a play. The cool water soothes my ankle and it feels a lot better when I walk around afterwards. Mum and I spend a few lazy hours walking around the Redcliffe markets and along Suttons Beach. My ankle feels okay until I step on a stone and wrench my foot sideways. I feel a twinge of pain – not agony but enough to make me realise I need to rest it.

On Sunday night I pull out of this morning’s training run. I know better than to push through an injury. I haven’t had one since I started training again in July and it’s frustrating to get one right when I’m enjoying myself. But at the same time I know this injury is not overuse, it’s bad luck. I think there was a delay in onset of the injury after twisting my ankle out running on Monday. I don’t know why it took until Saturday to flare up but maybe I was distracted by the blister on the back of my heel. Maybe Saturday was the first time I rested after quite a busy week and maybe the long run on Friday wore down my defences.

Whatever the cause of the swollen and sore ankle, I have decided that it’s important to listen to my body. I’m taking a few days off training to let it heal. My goal is to be fit enough to go bush walking with my son on Australia Day this Thursday and then to get back on the bike or in the pool on Friday. I am going away next weekend to volunteer as a technical official at the Tre-X Back2Back off-road triathlon in Maroochydore so I won’t be doing much training this coming weekend anyway (though I do hope to find time for a light beach run and maybe some body surfing). It seems like a timely point at which to have a few days forced rest.

I’m not too concerned by the injury though – it only seems like a mild strain or sprain. And on the plus side I get to sleep in for a few days πŸ™‚

6 responses to “A few days forced rest

  1. Good idea to rest it mate. Enjoy your time away πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Stew πŸ™‚ I am certainly enjoying the sleep ins and quiet mornings. I’ve been watching some of my favourite TV programs that I had taped before I go to work. Tragic but pleasant πŸ™‚

  2. I can understand your frustration Andrew, but better a smaller frustration now than a bigger one later. Take care of that ankle buddy! – Simone

    • Oh yeah! I totally agree. The ankle is healing well and I’m sure I could get out running again tomorrow but I’m erring on the side of caution with this one. Besides, I want to still be training when I’m old and grey so a few missed days when I’m young (and only partly grey) won’t affect my long-term goals πŸ™‚ They might even do them good πŸ™‚

  3. Oh how frustrating! But very glad you are listening to your body πŸ™‚

    • It is frustrating but I’m making the most of it πŸ™‚ Being in bed at 6:30am is a novelty and it’s much nicer to listen to the rain on the roof than to have to get up and go outside into it πŸ˜‰ . Yes, listening to my body is a good thing. It’s something I’ve been practicing for a little while now – tai chi helped with that πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

