A 6km plod

I am still fatigued when I wake up at 4:45am this morning. It’s a struggle to get out of bed and I contemplate having a lie in. But I don’t. I get out of bed and pull on my running clothes.

I run the 1.5km down the road through the soupy humidity to the shops where my running friends are meeting. I struggle but keep putting one foot in front of the other. I sit down on the kerb to wait for my friends and my calves cramp as soon as I stand up. I sit back down, drink some water and massage my calves.

Despite my fatigue it feels good to run with my friends. We chat as we run. They are aiming to do a 1 hour run but as we pass my house at the 6km mark I leave the group, content with the short 35 minute run after the weekend’s exertion.

I’ll feel a lot better after an early night.

Leave a Reply

