Volunteering at Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane 2012

The Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane 2011 was an important event for me because it got me back into training. No, I didn’t train properly before the event but afterwards I decided to become a triathlete.

This year I can’t fit the Trailwalker into my race schedule so I decided to nominate as a volunteer. I was so excited today when Oxfam’s volunteer coordinator phoned me to invite me to assist on Friday and Saturday afternoons / nights as:

  • event courier on Friday afternoon / night
  • assistant checkpoint coordinator on Saturday afternoon / night.

Each role is described on the Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane website.

The event is being held from Friday to Sunday 15-17 June 2012. I’m really quite excited at the opportunity to be involved in such a wonderful event and to see it from a whole new perspective. Besides, I love being part of the behind-the-scenes team. I got my first taste as a backstage crew member in high school for the Rock Eistedford and love being triathlon technical official. I think it’s the unique combination of teamwork, invisibility, atmosphere and joys of getting front row seats to the event that keeps me coming back for more.

Bring on Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane 2012. It’s going to be a brilliant weekend. Good luck to all the teams walking this year. I’ll be cheering for you from the sidelines.

 

2 responses to “Volunteering at Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane 2012

  1. what a great event. does the whole team walk/run the whole course or is it relay?

    • The whole team walks the whole course, so it’s not a relay. Last year’s course for Brisbane (which I believe hasn’t changed much) is really awesome. You walk from Mt Glorious all the way to Mt Cootha. There’s some serious hills (including one massive one that goes for about 5km and most teams hit it in the middle of the night). You can have support crew meet you at 3 checkpoints along the way and Oxfam provide support (and lollies – haha) at a few bush checkpoints.

      I totally loved the event last year. It was super well-organised and it felt so powerful to know we had all walked 100km together just putting one foot in front of the other.

Leave a Reply

