Quick summary last two days

A slick day on the bike course at the Australian Youth Triathlon Championships

I’ve been quite busy this week so haven’t had time to blog properly. This is a quick summary of the last two days training.

Bike ride Wednesday

I did a 20 minute warm up at 31.1kph along mainly flat roads. Then followed it with a 20 minute hard set on hilly roads at 29.5kph average speed. Then I ended my ride with 12:45 at 26.3kph cool down. I was really happy with my ride because it shows I’m consistently riding faster than I was before I started this program.

Total: Β 25.81km @ 29.3kph.

Run Thursday

I was supposed to do 12 x 400m repeats at race pace this morning but was short of time because I had to leave home at 4:50am to get to the Australian Youth Triathlon Championships on the Sunshine Coast where I was volunteering as a technical official. I got up just before 4am and got 7 x 400m repeats completed before I had to get ready to leave.

I started with a 1.5km warm-up during which I measured out some 400m stretches of road near my home. Then I did my reps in the darkness as rain started to fall. I had 30 – 60 seconds rest between each rep:

  1. 1:25:15 (395m – 3:35 pace)
  2. 1:06:72 (317m – I totally blew up – 3:31 pace)
  3. 1:39:90 (428m – 3:53 pace)
  4. 1:37:60 (399m – 4:05 pace)
  5. 1:39:82 (411m – 4:03 pace)
  6. 1:32:97 (429m – 3:37 pace)
  7. 1:35:70 (401m – 4:02 pace)

I felt awful when I finished my 7 x 400m repeats and barely managed my 350m cool down jog and 200m walk up the steep hill to my home. But at the time I didn’t realise just how fast I was running my repeats. I was disappointed about them all day until just now when I checked my pace and realised I did them really quickly for my current running standards. Now I’m pleased with this morning’s training (and am not surprised I had some cramping between stopping and showering).

Grateful for my new Goretex jacket

Rest of today’s adventures

I spent the rest of today out in the rain at the Australian Youth Triathlon Championships. It took me 2 hours to ride my motorbike to the event and it poured rain the whole way. Visibility was about 50m and I felt like a cold drowned rat when I arrived. I spent the next 4-5 hours out in the rain at the bike turn-around watching some young 13 – 18 year old stars gutting it out on the wet course. I was glad that I bought my self a Goretex jacket last week because I stayed cosy and dry all day despite the rain. I enjoyed the event immensely and it was worth the long 2 hour ride home in some of the most disgusting motorcycling conditions I’ve ever experienced (almost a total grey out with many drivers not bothering to put their lights on or only putting park lights on – making it stressful and tiring, especially seeings my motorbike wet weather gear totally failed).

I was supposed to go for a 60 minute bike ride this evening but the 4 hour return motorbike ride totally took it out of me and I fell asleep on the lounge room floor from about 3pm to 6pm.

3 responses to “Quick summary last two days

  1. You got up before 4am to go running?? Is that what dedication to training looks like? I’d rather go running at midnight! πŸ™‚

    • LOL. I am pretty much never awake at midnight πŸ˜‰ But I seem to be able to get up early in the morning. And at the moment I’m feeling particularly inspired because my body has suddenly changed shape over the past 2-3 weeks and I am loving it πŸ˜‰ The fat from my belly that I’ve been struggling against for the last few years has suddenly disappeared and I kinda have to admit it’s made me realise how good the training has been.

      Not only that but I’ve got time off work next March to walk the Australian Alps Walking Track so I’m motivated to get as fit as possible for that πŸ™‚

  2. I could see myself hopping into 70 degree water looking for the lane dividers… Than getting anxious when I cannot find them looking like the odd fish in the pond and drowning

    lol

    cheers

Leave a Reply

