Beach combing at Historical Cosack

 

Near Burton's Bottle Tree at Cossack. No, I didn't bring a lot of clothes on my trip 😉

My day starts with my body waking up at 3am because it hasn’t adjusted to western standard time, which is 2 hours behind the time at home in Queensland. It’s beautiful staring up at the stars through my open tent. The world is quiet and, after finishing my book, I drift back to sleep for a few hours. I should mention that I was sweating profusely just lying in my tent at 3am.

After a lazy morning doing some work and finishing another book (this time an outdoor athlete’s training guide) I drive to Cosack, a historic ghost town.

An 1890s building that has withstood cyclones and time

I enjoy an hour driving up to each historic location and reading the signs. It’s hard to imagine the courage (or stupidity) of those early settlers. The signs and buildings told stories of pearlers, graziers, miners, mariners, business people and their families. I take the time to walk around ruins and relics, grateful that I am fit enough to enjoy it.

Settlers Beach. The dark brown bits are the soldier crab sand balls

Overlooking Settlers Beach from the lookout. You can still see the soldier crab sand balls clearly from here

I follow the road down to Settlers Beach where I leave the car and take a walk. The beach is long, ending at a wide creek. The water’s edge is dotted with sand balls that the soldier crabs have dug out of their holes.

I dip my toes in the water. It’s hot enough to make a cup of tea. I’ve never felt seawater like it before. The water here gets caught in tidal pools at low tide and perhaps this causes the heat. It fascinates me so I keep walking in the water.

I walk for half an hour, following the water’s edge. There’s only one other person on the beach; a woman walking her dog who is walking back to her car. To my right, the clear blue water stretches for miles. To my left the flat flood plains shimmer into the distance. I can easily imagine a lost explorer going mad out there under the baking hot sun.

On the horizon I see lines of cargo vessels making their way into one of the mining ports. The line is never-ending and I wonder whether today’s towns will go the way of Cosack after the ore, gold and gas run out.

 

Honeymoon Cove

After my half hour walk back to the car I drive up the headland to a lookout. The view would have knocked my sock off if I’d been wearing any. I am surrounded by near deserted red rock country and impossibly blue waters dotted with small islands. It’s a magic place.

I eat a lunch of crackers with tuna at a shaded picnic table further down the road. The solitude is divine. Then I drive back to Point Samson’s Honeymoon Cove where I submerged myself in the cool clear ocean waters for about 2 hours. It’s been a glorious day.

My tent. A 2003 Hallmark Hangout that only weighs 1.1kg including pegs

 

2 responses to “Beach combing at Historical Cosack

  1. It looks lovely . . . I love sleeping outside although perhaps not so much when it’s freezing cold lol.

    • It was absolutely fab Sally 🙂

      I don’t know how I’d be sleeping outside in the freezing cold either. I need a tent in those conditions 🙂 Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on your view), it was still about 30’C overnight in Dampier and Point Samson where I was camped 🙂

Leave a Reply

