Julia Creek Trip Day 13: Home

Today’s 485km ride home can best be summed up in just a few phrases:

  • 6.5 long and often scary hours
  • potholes so large they could swallow a small truck
  • puddles so deep I needed scuba diving gear to ride through them
  • visibility so low I often couldn’t see the cars in front of me or the lines on the road
  • rain so heavy it managed to penetrate my raincoat, winter jacket, fleece vest and t-shirt.

Yes, some will say I should have stopped but that’s not my style. The downpour continued through last night and sometimes here in ย Queensland downpours like that continue for days. I’ve learned to ride through heavy rain and to manage my risks so that’s what I did. And besides, a bit of fear is good sometimes.

I made it home safely and am ready to get back into training.

2 responses to “Julia Creek Trip Day 13: Home

  1. Thought I’d wait to comment when you finished your trip. What a way to spend your holiday . . . certainly couldn’t complain about being bored ๐Ÿ™‚ Great photos and write-up for each day. I’m not one bit envious lol. Glad you arrived home safe ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you for reading about my holiday ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a fantastic experience ๐Ÿ™‚ Am back into normal life now … All re-energised ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

