Perth and Swan River Valley geohunting

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I’m over in Perth on Australia’s west coast for work for a couple of days. I arrived at about 9:30pm Perth time last night (so 11:30pm east coast time, which is what my body was on). But I still managed to get up long before the sun this morning to go for a geo-run. I hadn’t done any exercise in over a week so my body was begging me to get out and have some movement, though it did complain at times throughout the process.

My Garmin 800 doesn’t pick up satellites here in Perth but I was desperate to continue my geocaching adventures so before I left Brisbane I printed out some maps from geocaching.com and made notations on them with clues for finding the caches. I figure this is probably really good practice for adventure racing where we’re not allowed to use GPS gadgets.

And so it was that I set off at 5:15am to run my usual run along the banks of the Swan River, Perth crossing it at both the Narrows and The Causeway to close out the loop. Only today I added a few extra side trips to search for caches. In my trip out I discovered the Supreme Court Gardens, the last remaining fig tree in a city garden, the Old Mill, a statue of May Gibbs who wrote the Australian classic Snuggle Pot and Cuddle Pie, and the Mary McKillop museum. I’d never actually explored South Perth beyond the banks of the river so it was great to hit some suburban streets and parks during my run.

Total run: 12.6km, 9 geocaches

I am in Perth for work and had two meetings scheduled today. The first was out at the lovely suburb of Guildford. It’s just 14km from the Perth CBD but felt like it was a million miles away. Guildford is nestled in the Swan Valley, which is home to vineyards, cattle, and fine cheeses and chocolates.

My second appointment of the day had to be rescheduled so this left me with a free afternoon, which I put to good use trying out the   C: Geo app I downloaded onto my phone last week. The app was great and I quickly bagged eight geocaches, of which seven were nanos. For those not familiar with geocaching, nanos are the smallest geocaching containers that can be hidden. They are often no larger than your thumb nail or an Eclipse mint container and are commonly magnetised to the hiding place.

Total: 8 geocaches

After my successful geohunt I did a few hours work in the pretty Lilac Park on the banks of the Swan River in Guildford before driving back to my accommodation in Perth. I didn’t feel like sitting around in my room alone all night long and needed to go out for some food so I grabbed my set of geocaching maps and walked / ran around Perth doing some more geocaching.

I left my mobile phone in my room on charge because the battery was flat and again relied solely on my map reading / clue interpreting skills. I ran all over East Perth and the Perth CBD, looking for geocaches hidden in statues and alleyways. I particularly liked the caches that were magnetised to statues; both because they were clever and because I like looking at statues in cities. I like reading the stories about them and the way they make a city feel loved. The caches that were hidden in dark alleyways were a bit less attractive but at least they gave me some excitement at wondering whether anyone was lurking around in the shadows (well, not really because I’m not afraid of alleyways after having spent years volunteering as a street outreach worker in my home city).

My favourite caches of the day were the cache container that was hidden in a fake apple (see photo above) and a cache that was made out of a hose connector. It was simply left sitting in an alleyway next to a down pipe with no camouflage at all. I almost overlooked it because I thought it was meant to be there. If you are curious about the cache, go to the geocaching.com website and look up a cache called Wasted (code GC2Q25E).

Total walk/run 7.6km. 5 geocaches

Day total: 20.2km run / walk. 22 geocaches.

Leave a Reply

