Cycling with the moon

Cleveland lighthouse

The moon is huge as I ride towards it. It’s silver light is bright in the pre-dawn darkness. I seem to spend a lot of time outdoors in the pre-dawn darkness these days so it’s nice to have the moon for company. According to WillyWeather, the moon is now waning gibbous at 99% full and will set at 7:27am. I don’t care too much about this technical stuff; all that matters right now is that the moon is huge, bright and beautiful.

I ride out to Mount Cotton Road. It’s freezing cold (well not technically because it’s actually only about 5’C) this morning making my fingers sting, my eyes water and my nose drip. But by the time I’ve climbed the first few hills I have to stop to strip off my thin fleece pants and my fleece vest, leaving only cycling shorts, cycling jersey and a thin cotton jumper to keep me warm.

The ride out past the vineyard feels magical. The moon is filling the sky over Mount Cotton while the first shades of pink and orange are colouring the sky above the bare grape vines. I’m finding the riding easy and am soaking up the sensation of the cold because I know it’s only a few short months until our long hot summer starts again.

The sun is just about to break the horizon as I reach Cleveland Point and the moon becomes instantly smaller. It’s not that the moon has shrunk but the strength of the sun’s rays are overpowering the silver light of the moon, making the moon seem to become more distant. I stop at the old lighthouse to take some photos before turning around to ride back home.

Moreton Bay cycleway

Rather than follow the road home, I turn off through some parkland to follow the Moreton Bay Cycle Way. It takes me along shared pathways through parks and along boardwalks through the waterfront mangroves. It’s much slower than following the road because I want to be considerate of the people walking their dogs but it’s also much prettier. I follow the cycleway for about ten kilometres before it rejoins the main road.

The temperature has dropped again with the onset of daylight and I have to put my fleece vest back on over the top of my jumper to keep the cold air off my chest. I don’t want to catch another cold. My toes are now almost totally numb and what little feeling there is in them is painful. That will teach me for not wearing socks in my cycling shoes. But the cold doesn’t detract from my enjoying the ride.

When I get home I make a tactical error: I jump straight in a warm shower before letting my body defrost. My toes become itchy and I feel the blood drain from my head. The world starts to spin and I remember the last time this happened: that ended with me lying naked on a cold bathroom floor after feinting. I quickly turn off the water, sit down to gather myself and grab a towel while rubbing my now itchy feet and legs. Next time I will have that hot cup of tea to bring my body back to room temperature.

Total: 42.85km @ 23.2kph. Average temperature 6.1’C.

Tonight I rode my mountain bike ย 7.07km along bush trailsย to get to visit my sister. I’m glad I opted to do that instead of riding there on my motorbike.

4 responses to “Cycling with the moon

  1. A nice way to start the day ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the photo of the cycleway . . . on my screen it looks almost like a painting ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was a nice way to start the day Sally ๐Ÿ™‚ . Thanks for the compliment. Would you believe all these photos on my blog are just taken with my mobile phone. It’s great how far technology has come – no need to cart around a camera when training to take happy snaps ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You’re right about not needing a camera. My daughters new phone has a 12 megapixel camera; the photos are great ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve learnt to let my hands come back to room temp after walking the dog (even with gloves they get cold!) before I hop in a hot shower to warm up. The pain is just too much. Also learnt that alcohol gel is the way to go on cold frosty mornings when you just can’t bear the thought of washing your hands in cold water!!!

Leave a Reply

