I was naughty: I just had to run

I know I shouldn’t have gone running because I’ve got this cough-cold thing that’s part of Brisbane’s worst flu season on record. But I just had to. I couldn’t sit still anymore. So last night I pulled on my trusty Dunlop Volleys, head torch and hydro pack to hit the trails near my home.

I walked the first 500m through the slushy paddock at the end of our street so that I could warm up a bit and see how I felt. Then, on feeling fine, I hit the single track trails for about 6km. While I carried my Garmin GPS, I didn’t refer to it while I ran. I kept all thoughts of pace out of my head so that I could concentrate on the pleasure I get from cruising along single track trails.

I took things easy; walking up the steep hills and running just fast enough to raise a light sweat. The bush was quiet except for the sloshing of water in my hydro pack and the occasional sound of a wallaby hopping away. The rain had stopped but droplets of water shone in the light of my headlamp. The slender green fronds of grass trees turned white under the light of my headlamp due to the coating of rain water. It was magical.

I’m glad I went out and ran the single tracks last night. It probably wasn’t the most sensible thing to do because I was up half the night coughing and sweating again. But I just had to get some fresh air; I had to run. There’s nothing else to it. Today I will rest πŸ˜‰

Total: 9.11km @ 7:54 pace (including the 500m I walked at the start of my session). Average temperature 21’C.

4 responses to “I was naughty: I just had to run

  1. Sometimes the fresh air will do you more good than anything else!

  2. Lol . . . I had a feeling you wouldn’t be able to resist much longer. To be fair, I’d be the same. How else would we find out if were well enough? Enjoy your rest day πŸ™‚

    • Haha Sally πŸ™‚ I wondered how long it would take too πŸ™‚ … I am thinking that I’ll hit the trails again for an hour or two tonight because I won’t get a chance this weekend while I’m support crewing for a friend’s Kokoda Challenge team (am about to write about that).

      The cough-cold is still sitting on my chest. I feel fine but I still sweat at night and cough a lot when cold air hits my chest. But I’m sure a nice slow run in the fresh air tonight will help πŸ˜‰ [It’s warmer at night than in the morning atmos so I think it’s more sensible to run at night]

Leave a Reply

