Spontaneous? Who me?

Well, it was bound to happen sooner or later. I was never going to wait until September to run my first 50km trail run.Β  That would be too organised and planned for me.

I’ve just gone and entered the 50km Flinders Tour Trail Run at the Glasshouse Mountains. The cut off is a bit tight for me (7 hours) so I’m going to take the early start option to give myself 8 hours to complete the event.

The really crazy thing is that the event is being held the day after I complete a 4 day bushwalking trip with my parents at the Conondale Range Great Walk. We’re walking 56km from Wednesday to Saturday carrying all our own gear. Then camping near the start of the trail run on Saturday night.

I’m excited about the challenge. I know I can complete 50km in 8 hours because I completed a 45km trail run in 7:30 last November when I was still struggling to run more than 7km in training. That 45km trail run was also held on beach sand and I ran it in bare feet. This run will be held on forestry trails and I’ll have my trusty new Vibrams to protect me.

My goals for the event are to:

  1. relax and enjoy the experience
  2. not get caught up in the stress of the start (I always go out too hard due to lack of trust in my ability to take it slow)
  3. practice eating often enough to stay fueled
  4. finish within the extended cut-off.
10 responses to “Spontaneous? Who me?

  1. Yea! Great goals for the event! πŸ™‚ Good luck!!! πŸ™‚ And holy cow, pretty certain I could never do this. Yet, perhaps. Maybe some day. Is almost 50 too old to start trying?
    I don’t think so, but it does present quite a challenge.

    • G’day Sandra, I don’t think almost 50 is too old to start trying. I have noticed that many long distance runners (whether 10km, half marathon, marathon or ultra marathon) are in their 40s and 50s. I’m often one of the young kids on the block at running events (or at least it feels like it). I put it down to people having learned more patience and had more time to gain endurance by the time they are in their 40s and 50s.

      Besides, I think the important thing is just to give things a try, even if you risk falling short of your ultimate goal. Because there’s no point wondering πŸ˜‰

  2. Excellent goals: especially not stressing at the start. That one plagued me for years. Once I learned to feel my own pace and trust its consistency, I started doing better in my races because I was able to focus on others things. I wish you well, and cannot wait to hear about your adventure…and it is an adventure indeed!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who stresses at the start of events. I don’t get nervous before the event but once the gun goes I panic.

      I’ve checked the cut-off times against the course distances and am going to take a leap of faith to trust that I can meet the cut-offs if I start at the gun time, rather than the early cut off. It doesn’t look the course is too hilly. I have to tun @ 7min/km pace for the first 28km and then can slow to 7:30 pace for the last 22km. Even with some walking I know I can maintain that pace. Especially if I eat enough food as I go πŸ˜‰

  3. Great stuff mate. I reckon those goals are perfect, but they will still be a challenge. Especially the bit about pacing. You’re better prepared than you think, you have a great variety of challenges behind you already in your training and you aren’t putting any unreasonable expectations on yourself. Go for it!

    • Thanks mate πŸ™‚ I am much better prepared than I was when I rocked up to the 45km trail run at Rainbow Beach (yes, 20+km of beach running was included) in November last year so I’m feeling good about the challenge. At least I know I can do it πŸ™‚

      Am going to the US for a conference next year so am just about to organise entry to some cool events while I’m over there.

  4. Good for you. I know you’ll succeed πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Sally πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to the race on Sunday … I’m a bit nervous but also excited

      • I think you’ll do really well πŸ™‚ In an odd way I think nerves are good . . . keeps you on the ball if you know what I mean. I always used to feel nervous and excited at the same time when I ran races πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

