Feeling good the day after my first 50km trail run

It’s the day after my first 50km trail run and I’m feeling good.

Physically, I have some mild soreness in my legs and lower back. But that’s to be expected after a 4-day hike with a 21kg pack followed by a 50km trail run. I will be right for a slow 6km jog tomorrow to loosen the muscles.

Mentally, I am ready to continue my ultra running adventures. I am still feeling realistic about my goals, despite having totally blown away my goal time yesterday by about 40 minutes (I was honestly just hoping to complete the course in 7:30). I am also starting to realise that I do need to commit full-time to running training and to getting miles on my feet. So I am making a personal commitment to that. I have found a basic 20 week 50km ‘program’ that shows how to slowly build miles but doesn’t prescribe specific workouts (because I know I rebel against training plans).

Emotionally I am happy that I can finally call myself an ultra marathoner without having to add the caveat ‘by 800m’ that I used to have to add because my previous ultra marathon was a 43km race. I am also proud of myself for keeping on running despite the pain I experienced during the event. I’ve always been the kind of guy who runs away when things get tough. Over the past year I’ve been proving to myself that I can change this about myself. I now know I can do anything I set my mind to.

My next trail run is the 22km Lake Manchester Trail run on 12 August, just 13 days away. Then I have entered the 50km trail run at the Glasshouse 100 on 15 September, which will be my second 50km. Bring it on!

4 responses to “Feeling good the day after my first 50km trail run

  1. Awesome! Wow! That is quite an accomplishment. I am glad that even though it is painful at times, you always find the joy in it. Keep up the good work.

    • Thank you Mac πŸ™‚ I think that’s the biggest lesson that I am learning through my running – to find the joy in things rather than focusing on the pain. It’s something I can apply to other areas of my life too. It’s pretty special to be able to get out and run in beautiful places πŸ™‚

  2. Well done mate. On track. Keep up the posts, its always an inspiration to hear from someone working up the miles.

    • Thank you for reading πŸ™‚ I find it helpful to write about my training and racing … it keeps me honest πŸ™‚ But also gives me a chance to be part of the online part of the running and sport community, which is a lovely addition to my involvement with my local running club and the local trail running community.

Leave a Reply

