Gardening as training

image

I did a lot of gardening this weekend. I did the 8 hours on Saturday then did 5 hours Sunday after volunteering as a course marshal at the Brisbane Running Festival.

This morning (Monday) I didn’t have any running on my schedule so I did some serious weeding. For about 2 hours I pulled out years of weeds that have been growing in a neglected part of the garden. There were so many weeds that I filled the back of Mum’s ute.

It was a solid full body workout. Pulling and carrying weeds worked out my upper body. Repeatedly pushing the full wheelbarrow uphill was a good leg workout.

image

This photo above shows the area before I started this morning.

image

And this is after. I can’t wait to turn it into a native garden.

2 responses to “Gardening as training

Leave a Reply

