My 12 in 12 for 2012 Challenge

I don’t quite know where this crazy idea has come from. I get them from time-to-time.

In 2002, I decided to drive out to the Birdsville Races and then cycle home. The bicycle ride home was 1,600km (1,000 miles). I rode with my father while my mother, sister and grandmother supported us with a caravan. We didn’t train sufficiently for the ride but we had a fantastic adventure and succeeded in our mission.

In 2004, I decided to walk the Oxfam Trailwalker in Sydney. It was a 100km bushwalk. I walked with The Plovers, a team comprising of my father, mother and brother-in-law. Our goal was to complete the walk in 36 hours, well within the 48 hour time limit. Again, we didn’t train sufficiently and just ‘winged’ it. My mother got sick shortly before the event and had major surgery. But she still started with us, only withdrawing at the halfway point. She then joined my sister in the support vehicle, feeding us and keeping us motivated to the finish. We completed the walk in 36hrs 29mins.

In 2011, I decided to walk the Oxfam Trailwalker in Brisbane. This time our team, The Plovers Take 2, comprised my brother-in-law and me, and another pair of brothers-in-law who we met shortly before the event. Again, our goal was to complete the walk in 36 hours. While the rest of my team trained, I did only minimal training. We completed the course in 32hrs 58 minutes.

The day after Trailwalker Brisbane I decided to throw myself into triathlon, aiming to complete a six triathlons in 9 months. I ended up completing 9 triathlons, 1 ultra marathon, 2 half marathons and an 8 hour adventure race. And I loved it.

So I have a history of crazy ideas. But I think, perhaps, this crazy idea I have now is the craziest so far:

I want to complete 12 marathons or ultra marathons in 12 months.

Yes, you heard me correctly. And yes, I am sure I want to do this. I want to run 12 marathons or ultra marathons in 12 months. So that’s my challenge:

My 12 in 12 for 2012 Challenge.

I know I started late but it’s better late than never. I’ve listed my challenge runs in the left margin of my blog and also in my upcoming events page.

8 responses to “My 12 in 12 for 2012 Challenge

  1. Wow, pretty ambitious, especially considering it’s already mid-August!

    • My challenge will continue from July 2012 to June 2013. So it’s 12 months that starts in 2012. It’s still ambitious … my list of events is on the left side of my blog screen (next to these comments).

      The thing to remember with my goal is that I don’t ‘race’ to race. I am entering the events with the goal to finish them all and enjoy myself. That makes a big difference.

      • Oh, duh, I get it! That seems a lot more realistic! Great goal to have, and I have no doubt that you’ll do a spectacular job. Sounds like fun!

      • I thought I should more clearly spell out my goal both for myself and others. I didn’t want anyone worrying I was going to go hard every race or that I hadn’t thought seriously about how I was going to achieve it.

        I’ve listed my goal times on my upcoming events page. Essentially for 50km my goal is always sub-8 hours. For marathon it’s sub-5 hours. For 45km it’s sub-7 hours. For 50miles it’s sub-14 hours and for 100km it’s sub-24 hours.

        That means I just have to meet cut offs. I’d like to do them all a little faster but the goals force me to start out realistically. Like I read somewhere, as a beginner I’m not Kilian or Jurek

  2. Good for you! Making the comittment to do it is the first step, I’m looking forward to following your success.

  3. What a great challenge for you! Always admiring your dedication to upcoming events… but I hope this doesn’t spell the end for Tough Mudder!

    Stay well

Leave a comment