Margaret River trail run

Trail along the Margaret River

After a week of rest, relaxation and food, I just had to go running tonight. I checked my Geocaching.com and saw that there was a geocache with a travel bug in it in the bush about 3km from the B&B we’re staying in here in Margaret River. I took it as an omen and pulled on my running gear.

Short section of fire trail

I crossed the road from the B&B and set off into the bush along a flowing section of sot brown single track. Unlike the trails near my home, this was soft brown dirt that felt great under my feet. I followed it down to the edge of town when I ran along the road verge for about 1km before setting off down a short section of fire trail. Again, this was soft underfoot.

Trail signs

Flowing single track through the wattles

I found another section of single track that led me to a carpark where I had a choice of three trails to follow. They all went past the geocache that I was looking for so I didn’t have to worry about which trail to follow. The air smelled sweet with wattle flowers, which were blooming along the track under the huge Karri trees. It was magical.

Travel bug I dropped off

I found the geocache and dropped off the cute little travel bug I’d been carrying with me since Fremantle, last Saturday morning. I’ve been logging it’s travels online on geocaching.com and have enjoyed posting lots of photos of it’s travels. But it was time to let it go so someone else could enjoy furthering its journey. The travel bug I thought was going to be in the cache was there too so I collected that and will take it with me on my onward journey.

After dropping the travel bug I returned to the B&B the way I came. It was a really good run. I didn’t have any trouble with my hamstring either. The week off must have been just what I needed.

In other news, I have picked up a free entry to next weekend’s Stampede 10km obstacle course mud run back home. I’m going to go give it a go. It will be good practice for Tough Mudder, which is just three weeks away. I won’t be racing the course; I’m going to take it easy because I have my next ultra marathon the following week.

Total: 7km trail run at unknown pace.

Leave a Reply

