Positive news brings positive goals

Image courtesy of zirconicusso / Freedigitalphotos.net

The good news today has brought with it a new sense of positivity. Instead of going to yoga tonight, I decided to come home, have a few ginger beers and refocus on Audax Cycling with the Audax Australia.

Audax is where you ride randonees, which are predetermined routes ranging from 50km to 1,000km in a given time limit. The time limits are generous, allowing you to complete the course while averaging just 15kph. And that’s exactly why Audax appeals to me; because I don’t want to race. I just want a reason to get out on my bicycle over the coming year while I build the mileage in my legs after I start running again.

I am going to 50km event close to home on 20 October to learn more about Audax Australia. If I like it, which I’m sure I will, I’ll join up so that next year I can work towards some of the Audax Australia awards.

I’m extremely goal oriented so I need something to work towards. The end of my 12-in-12 Challenge affected me more than I consciously realised, though I’m sure it came through in my posts. So I felt a bit lost. But now that I know I don’t have stress fractures I can focus on healing my legs for running and enjoying cycling again in the meantime.

The Audax Australia season runs from 1 November – 31 October. So I’m coming into the sport at the right time. There are three awards I would like to try to achieve:

  1. Australian Super Randonneur – Riding 1,500km as one each of 200km, 300km, 400km and 600km rides
  2. Year Round Randonneur – Riding at one ride of at least 200km every month; the Australian Super Randonneur rides can count towards the Year Round Randonneur rides
  3. Audax Australian Annual Award – Riding at least either 1,000km, 2,500km, 5,000km, 7,500km or 10,000km in events in a single season. I think the 2,500km distance is a realistic goal for me.

Unlike my 12-in-12 Challenge, these goals are realistic and shouldn’t cause me to walk the fine tightrope of injury. They are goals that complement my desire to run ultra marathons and to spend a year increasing my running mileage. If anything, they will be a brilliant way to work on my physical and mental endurance. The cross training will also probably be good for my legs.

Woohoo! Good day today.

 

Leave a Reply

