Sydney geohunt

image

image

I woke early, before my mum and sister, so hit the streets around our hotel to find some geocaches. I started by following a walkway under the highway to a view over Darling Harbour. I hadn’t planned on collecting this cache but am glad I did. The view was expansive and the cache cleverly hidden (I almost gave).

image

image

I crossed the road to climb the stairs to Observatory Park. I couldn’t help but curse the city’s founders who chose a site that needed so many stairs. After a quick hunt I had another cache in my hands.

There were a lot of cyclists whooshing past on the nearby bikeway. It inspired me to get excited about my year of Audax cycling ahead as I wondered about where they were all heading and what they would see.

image

image

image

One on the things I love most about geocaching is that it takes me to places I might not otherwise explore and it encourages me to pay attention to my surroundings. Here in Sydney I noticed the old-school architecture and buildings. I live how there pieces of history blend into today’s world.

image

image

image

I went to Martin Place. Here there was a pretty garden with fountain, which I admired. The place also houses an anchor from the Sirus, a ship that was part of the First Fleet in 1788.

It’s also home to a geocaches down near the obelisk that marks the start of the 250km Great Northern Walk from Sydney to Castle. I found the cache and felt.myself drawn to the idea of traveling the walking trail one day. Why? Because it is there.

image

image

I walked to Circular Quay to enjoy the morning sun shimmering off the water. This is ironic Sydney so of course I had to take more photos of the ferries and Opera House.

image

image

image

I completed the task-based Driver’s Festival inspired geocache at the Quay before following the water past the international passenger terminal. The gangplanks are imposing as they hang over the walkway and restaurants.

I found the cache at Campbell’s Point while I savoured what will probably be my last view of the Harbour Bridge for a little while.

image

image

I finished my stroll by meandering through The Rocks, climbing yet more steps and returning to my hotel. By the time I got back Mum was ready to go out for breakfast with me.

Geocaches found: 6

Leave a Reply

