My first bike tools and components

image

My first tools and components

I’ve been cycling most of my life but have never had the confidence to perform any mechanical maintenance or repairs on my bicycle. I can identify a range of reasons for this, most of which filter back to a general lack of self-confidence. But in the past year I’ve thrown off those shackles by proving to myself that I’m a competent human being who can achieve my goals. Otherwise how could I have completed all those triathlons, marathon and ultra marathons so soon after returning to competitive sport.

My first order of bicycle tools and components arrived in the mail today so now I have something to do tomorrow (Saturday). I am so excited. I won’t know myself once I have the new chain and cassette installed. They are not just a much-needed, given that the current chain and cassette date to 2005 and haven’t been maintained. But they are also an upgrade from 8-speed Shimano HG-40 to 8-speed Shimano HG-50 components.

I’ll share my first mechanical experience over the weekend. I am sure it will be an interesting learning experience with moments of frustration but that I’ll be successful.

13 responses to “My first bike tools and components

  1. Your new tools make me want to start cycling! I used to fix my own tires and chain when I was a kid, and I used to love fixing things like that.

  2. The teeth on those sprockets are sharp and if your tools slip when you have a lot of pressure on them you end up with long parallel cuts right up your arm. (I have done this twice.) Stay safe out there 🙂

    • Thanks for the warning Pete. I had no trouble staying away from the sprockets. I laid the wheel down on the lounge room floor and got the thing removed, though I did need to give it a few love taps with a heavy car tyre iron to get it started (it was on tight)

  3. It can be addictive. You’ll be changing your bottom bracket next; then it’ll be a new headset or handlers lol.

    Have fun 🙂

    • Classic Sally 🙂 🙂 I definitely want new front chain rings because mine are quite worn so when I get the courage to do that I’ll probably do the BB as well … though that seems a little more precise than replacing chain and cassette (which I managed to do slightly wrong but more on that once I fix it). I was going to buy new chain rings but I don’t know which to get because I have a triple chain ring on my bike and most road bike components show doubles … I don’t know whether I need special chain rings for the middle one (most say ‘outer’ and ‘inner’ but none say ‘middle’).

      • I meant handlebars . . . that’s what happens when using my phone just after I’ve woken up and forgetting about predictive text!!

        My old road bike has two chain rings, but the new one I’ve ordered has three. I know what I’m doing with mountain and hybrid bikes, but will have to get up to speed (no pun intended) when I get my new one.

    • Oh no 😦 I’m now looking at bottom brackets and crank sets for my road bike. I have noticed that my inner chain ring is rubbing against the frame (there is a metal protector on there – fortunately). I only have an 8-speed so am just looking at the Shimano 2303 Triple 8-speed crankset with a UN55 Bottom Bracket. Right down the bottom end of the range but why over capitalise on a recycled bike. I just don’t know how long the BB needs to be for the crank set.

      All the other triple chainring crank sets are for 9-speed and 10-speed bikes so I’m not sure whether I can use them on my 8-speed bike because my chain might be too wide and they cost more.

      • Things seem so complicated at times! I just went on a forum where someone had the same query and I’m even more confused now. I hope you sort it 🙂

  4. Good luck. Hope it goes well

    • Well, replacing the cassette went well. And I got the chain on. But … I’ve run it through the rear deraileur slightly incorrectly and have to go to the bike shop for more chain pins so that I can fix it.

      I replaced it all last night and couldn’t work out why it was making an awful noise. Until I checked again this morning to see I missed a guide on the rear derailuer. Whoops … LOL. Guess I’ll have to ride the old MTB to the bike shop to get this sorted. Then I just have to massively adjust the derailleur for the new cassette (my old cassette was an MTB one while this one is a standard 12-23 8speed road cassette) and then I’m off 🙂

Leave a Reply

