MS Moonlight Walk 2012

Image courtesy of Teerapun / Freedigitalphotos.net

My physio told me today that I can start doing walking-type activities and the timing couldn’t be better.

On Friday 19 October 2012, I will be participating in the MS Moonlight Walk 2012. This is a 5km charity walk to raise money for Multiple Sclerosis Australia. I have joined Team Wobbly Boots, who are led by my sister-in-law, Liza.

Liza has Multiple Sclerosis. She is only a young woman who now relies on a wheelchair for mobility. On the day Liza was diagnosed, and on every day, five Australians were told they have MS. That’s how prevalent this disease of the central nervous system is. The average age of diagnosis is just 30 years, so this is a disease of the young.

MS Australia aims to minimise the affect of MS on people who are diagnosed with the disease, and their families, carers and communities. They provide a wide range of equipment, services and support.

I rarely do this on my blog, but I am inviting interested readers to donate to Team Wobbly Boots’ fundraising efforts. All donations go to MS Australia; each team member has already paid a separate $25 entry fee for the walk. All donations over $2 made by Australian tax payers are tax deductible.

If you would like to donate, click here.

Thank you for considering this request 🙂

Leave a Reply

