Cautiously starting to run again

It’s been seven weeks since I last went for a run. My injuries have been responding well to treatment and I have been given the all clear by my physio to start running again.

Over the past seven weeks my right calf has gone from being an alarmingly short 6cm (2.3″) to a healthier 10cm (4″) and will hopefully continue to lengthen through the stretches and exercises I am performing. My left calf hasn’t lengthened quite as much, being now 9cm (3.5″) long but I am confident it too will reach the magic 10cm mark in due course.

I’m performing a basic 10 minute stretching routine twice daily. It includes some shoulder, back, hip flexor and leg stretches. I am also trigger pointing my calves and rolling out all my leg muscles every evening before I go to bed.

So … back to my excitement. This morning I went for a run! It was so good.

I walked for 5 minutes to warm up; not that I needed to warm up much when it was 25’C (77’F) at 5:15am. I then ran for 1 minute, followed by a 4 minute walk. I repeated this 1:4 ratio four times, bringing my total ‘running’ session to 20 minutes before I walked the 5 minutes home to warm down.

I felt solid in the running sections and ran them all effortlessly at 4:30 – 5:13 min/km  (7:30 – 8:50 min/mile) pace. I consciously focused on moving effortlessly and with good form, rather than on my pace. I want to reset as many of my bad physical and mental habits as I can during this rebuilding phase of training.

I’m going to try to stick with this 1:4 ratio this week and possibly increase it to 1.5:3.5 next week before I start the couch-to-5km program. If anything hurts at any time I’m going to slow down my progress. And I’m hoping I can restrain myself by not overdoing things too early.

Total: 3.41km run/walk

2 responses to “Cautiously starting to run again

  1. Yay! Such good news! Just take your time ramping back up and ease back into it.

    • Oh yeah. Am definitely taking my time ramping back up. I am aiming to run Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays rather than the traditional 5-day a week model. It’s going to take a long time to be back at ultra marathon standard but I’m looking forward to the journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

