Death of my front derailleur

image

The dead front derailleur

I was excited to cycle to work this morning because I have a new set of wheels on my road bike. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be. My front derailleur seems to have died a sudden and mysterious death. It won’t shift at all anymore. When I disconnected the derailleur cable the shifter seemed to be working so I believe the problem must be in the derailleur itself.

I suspect there is a bolt that has come off the side of the derailleur because there is a hole with threading inside it that is currently empty. I don’t know whether or not there ever was a bolt in there because I’ve never checked. But at this early stage of ‘investigations’ I’m fairly sure it’s worked loose somehow.

I am running an 8-speed rear cassette and derailleur with a Shimano HG-50 chain. I’m not keen on replacing the whole drive train yet because that would be expensive. I also currently have a triple chain ring and front shifter on my bike. I can’t find any suitable components online because the Shimano Sora series is now only available in 9-speed and 10-speed, while the only 8-speed triple derailleurs are all designed for flat-bar bike gearing systems.

I guess in this instance I am off to the bicycle shop to find out what my options are. I wouldn’t mind switching to a double chain ring on the front but am concerned the shifter might be expensive to replace. At least this gives me an excuse to replace the bottom bracket and crankset because my smallest chainring is rubbing against the frame protector and the whole crankset is sitting at an awkward (non-parallel) angle to the bike.

Given that I couldn’t cycle to work this morning, I might try another walk/run this evening.

Leave a Reply

