Bargain!

Tiagra 4600 10sp groupset

Tiagra 4600 10sp groupset

With the death of my 2005 Shimano Sora 8sp triple front derailleur I have embarked on an exciting new cycling journey: a 2012 Tiagra 10sp double chain ring groupset journey.

Avanti Plus in Fortitude Valley has a whole groupset available for $AU450, which is only $70 more than it would cost me to buy the groupset from my usual UK-based suppliers. For an extra $200 I am getting my old groupset stripped, new groupset installed (including cables) and new bar tape. I also get a free service to adjust the gears after my initial ride.

While I could have bought the tools to install the whole lot myself, I decided that the price for installation is reasonable compared with the cost of buying the necessary tools. The swap will be taking place while I’m away sailing at the Whitsundays so I just have to drop my bike off in the city on my way to the airport tomorrow morning and collect it again on my way home on Saturday afternoon.

Bring on the 200km Audax Australia Bedrock 1 ride next weekend when I will effectively have a brand new bike.

I do hope, though, that this is the last big spend for my bike because I’ve been bleeding money into cycling since getting back into these past months. Still, it’s been a lot cheaper than buying a new bike … and I love my Trek OCLV frame.

3 responses to “Bargain!

  1. Know what you mean about spending so much lol. It’s worth it though . . . at least you can see what you’ve spent your money on and think of the fun you’re going to have ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh yeah! I’m going to have loads of fun ๐Ÿ™‚ My MTB shoes, pedals, cassette, chain and tyres arrived in the mail today so by Sunday afternoon both my bikes will be ready to go. I can’t wait to hit the road and trails on my bikes ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

