The Tiagra groupset is sweet!

1996 Trek OCLV with new wheels and groupset

I realised I haven’t yet shared my joy at having my bike upgraded with a new Tiagra groupset and Shimano 501 wheels.

Tiagra 10sp double groupset

The bike originally came with an 8-speed Shimano Ultegra 600 groupset, which was top of the line at the time.

The bike went into storage in about 1999 only to come out about 8 years later when Mum started to ride it. She eventually replaced the cassette with a Shimano HG-41 MTB cassette so that she had a granny gear.

When I started riding the bike last year, I replaced half the groupset with an 8-speed triple ring Sora groupset from a 2005 Giant OCR3.

But now it is adorned with a full 10-speed double ring Shimano Tiagra groupset.

Shiny new 10sp cassette and rear derailleur

It’s going to take a while to get used to the new gear ratios. Especially because I don’t have any double-up in the middle of my range like I used to. But once I’ve ridden a few times I’ll be set.

New view over the front of the bike: check out the cool white tyres

I even got new brakes with the new groupset. No more panicking when I ride too fast.

I can’t wait until next week when I should finally be able to take my sweet new-ish ride out to see how she handles.

2 responses to “The Tiagra groupset is sweet!

  1. Looks like a new bike (except for the quill stem which gives it a classic look). Nice

    • Yes, the stem and handlebars are original. It’s annoying sometimes because the handlebars are narrow so it’s difficult to find handlebar mounted items that fit (I usually resort to cable ties). But I really like the classic look too 🙂

      I can’t wait to take it for a spin. I still haven’t been able to ride it.

      My MTB is starting to look good too … I’ll have to show some photos once I’ve finished setting it up.

Leave a Reply

