Walking at running club

Victoria Point jetty

Victoria Point jetty

After last night’s mistake, I woke early and found my way to Victoria Point where the Brisbane Bayside Runners and Walkers have our regular Saturday morning run. This morning is the last Saturday of the month so we had our monthly time trial. I’ve only attended two previous time trials but turned up this morning because the club was holding a charity event for Young Care.

William Wragg (who was a special guest at our club this morning) is running 50 marathons in 50 days to raise money for Young Care.Young Care provide support to young people with disabilities and their families. The charity tries to help them get out of aged care homes and into more suitable accommodation. Both William’s epic adventure (he will be completing marathon #50 on 2 December) and his personal story of moving from being chronically injured to achieving this amazing feat are totally inspiring.  I look forward to running with him in the future because I can see so much of my own injury struggle and philosophy to running in his story (especially after chatting with him this morning). William is sharing his journey on his blog and I encourage you to have a look.

This morning at the time trial, everyone donated a gold coin (or a little more) and nominated a time they thought they would complete the 5km course in. The closest to their nominated time was the winner. I nominated 52 minutes for the 5km because I was walking it. I came close, finishing in 53:36 after enjoying a very social time with Bruce and Tony, who also walked the course.

I’m just about to head out to our annual Christmas picnic for the day. There is also a party at the pub tonight and I would like to go but also want to spend some time with my partner, who I have barely seen this week. So the picnic will have to do … I need to be around my friends right now to feel their support and share laughs rather than get caught in my own head.

Total: 5km walk

Leave a Reply

