Variety Santa Fun Run

Ready to cheer on the 1,800 Santas

Ready to cheer on the 1,800 Santas

1,800 Santas turned up for the annual Variety Santa Fun Run and Walk in Brisbane this morning. And what a fantastic morning it was. I wasn’t able to participate as one of the red-suited fat men so I volunteered my time to stand on the sidelines as a marshal instead.

The start line pre-event

The start line pre-event

Variety is a children’s charity. They provide equipment, support and laughter to children in need who are disadvantaged, sick or have special needs. Examples of their work include the Variety Freedom Program, which helps children gain mobility and communication; the Variety Future Kids Program, which helps children who are disadvantaged or who have special needs to receive access to education; and the Variety Caring for Kids Program, which provides equipment to hospital paediatric wards.

Running Santas

Running Santas

Walking Santas

Walking Santas

Santas of all ages and abilities turned up today to tackle the 5km loop course along the Brisbane River. They were each issued with their own Santa costume and event number. Importantly, no timing chips are issued for this event and there is no stop clock. The Santa Fun Run is purely for FUN. And that’s one of the things I love about this event.

I ran as a barefoot Santa last year and had so much fun. This year, when the event was announced, I contacted the organisers to offer my time so that I could still be involved even though I can’t run just yet. Sure, I could have walked. But I decided instead to wear a high visibility vest and shake a rattle (provided by Variety) to cheer on those braving the hot Brisbane morning.

If you are in Brisbane and want to have a fantastic day out, keep an eye out for the Variety Santa Fun Run 2013. You won’t regret it. If I’m free, you might just see me standing in high visibility clothing cheering you on again. Because this is one charity for whom I would gladly give my time again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

