Scrub bashing and getting blokey

Swamp country

Swamp country

Swamp country

Swamp country

I started my day with a bush bash. I’ve been working on the Post Code Hunt 4165 multicache (a multi-stage geocache). I started it after work one day this week but wasn’t able to finish it, so I went out this morning to give it another go. The geocache contains six way points, each containing a clue to the next waypoint. After finding all six clues, the final cache coordinates will be revealed. I’ve now found five waypoints and know where the sixth waypoint location is but I was unable to find the clue hidden there so need to go back.

A clue at a waypoint

A clue at a waypoint

A clue at a waypoint

A clue at a waypoint

Cicada shell

Cicada shell

The trail to the various waypoints took me way off the marked trails. Much of the search took place in swamp country. Fortunately, it hasn’t really rained here in months so the creeks and swamps are fairly dry. I walked through head-high reeds and waist-high grass with sharp blades. My legs are all cut up but it doesn’t matter because being out in the swamp country was too much fun to miss. Sure, I should have worn my gaiters, given that I have a pair. But I forgot and didn’t want to miss out on valuable time in the bush to ride the 15km back home to collect them.

My tool kit

My tool kit

After failing to find the final clue at waypoint 6, I went shopping for motorcycle mechanic tools. I haven’t owned any real tools since I finished my electronics trade apprenticeship in late 2002. I was so bad at my trade that I got rid of all my tools after my time and never really did anything practical again; until now. Completing the marathon in August made me realise I can do anything, including motorcycle mechanics. So today I bought a socket set, break bar, pliers, ratcheting thumb socket and something else related to repairing my motorbike. I just bought budget tools for now because I needed so many.

 

Removing the oil filter

Removing the oil filter

Disgusting mess in the front sprocket case

Disgusting mess in the front sprocket case (I cleaned it out)

Ratcheting thumb tool

Ratcheting thumb tool

At home I watched some YouTube clips about how to do each element of the 24,000km service for my Suzuki GS500. I have now changed the oil, oil filter and air filter. Tomorrow I will replace the chain and sprockets (I couldn’t do it today because I need a pair of needle nose pliers and a pair of bolt cutters), install an inline fuel filter and replace the brake fluid (I need some tubing to do it). I have also learned how to clean the carburator jets but don’t need to do that just yet.

It’s funny, I never felt quite man enough before but now that I’ve spent the day playing with my motorbike engine, I feel positively blokey. And that’s a good feeling.

I ended the day with a 2.75km walk with my partner.

Total: 7.25km walk.

2 responses to “Scrub bashing and getting blokey

  1. Oh, I do love hearing all your Australian lingo in this blog!

    • LOL. I always get a bit of schtick for my Aussie accent and slang. Especially given I’m actually a first generation Australian (though I did arrive here when I was 3yo so I don’t remember living in the country of my birth).

      I ended up not being able to finish my service today because the Suzuki dealership sold me the wrong front sprocket so I have to get it changed before I can change the chain. So, rather than getting all dirty twice, I’m going to finish the service when I get the part. Just finished my housework and grocery shopping so can head into town for some geocaching and to attend a fundraising function to celebrate William Wragg completing 50 marathons in 50 days to raise money for YoungCare (he is currently out running 3 consecutive marathons today in 32’C (90’F)).

Leave a Reply

