I’m so inspired!!!

I had the most amazing day. Sure, I could tell you all about my 5.5km walk through Brisbane’s inner northern suburbs. Or the historic monuments I visited. That was a fun outing. But it wasn’t a patch on the inspirational function I had the privilege of attending this afternoon.

I mentioned meeting William Wragg in an earlier post. William today completed a feat that is almost incomprehensible: he ran 50 marathons in 50 days. And he didn’t run them slowly, he completed each in under 4 hours, with his 50th marathon this morning being his fastest (I think it was somewhere in the 3:20s). You can read more about William on his blog.

The most amazing thing about William’s feat is that he is an ordinary guy who did something extraordinary. He’s not a sponsored athlete. He got up every day, ran his marathon and then went to work (yes, he went to work) before going home to fundraise at night and spend time with his wife.

William ran the marathons to raise awareness and money for Young Care, an Australian charity that helps young Australians with disabilities find age-appropriate accommodation and support services so they don’t have to live in aged care facilities. William’s goal is to raise $5,000 for the charity and he is likely to achieve that goal after receiving a large number of online donations and through today’s fundraiser, at which raffle tickets were sold and a silent auction held. I was lucky enough to win an iPod Shuffle in the raffle.

The function was truly inspiring. Not only did William speak and tell us about his adventure, but he also invited Kim Morrison to speak. Kim Morrison was the first Australian woman to represent Australia at the World 24 hour running championships back in the 1980s and she was the first woman to run more than 100 miles in less than 24 hours. Kim’s messages included:

  • Winners finish and finishers win.
  • Ultra running is 90% mental and only 10% physical.
  • You need to find your anchors to give you positive energy. For some people this might be a scent or song. When things get tough, dig out that old anchor to help you visualise a period in your life when you were successful or happy.
  • When you have a pity party (and everyone has them sometimes), turn it into a power party.

For me, attending a function alone shows my progress these past 18 months. I didn’t have anyone to attend with after being told about the event by my physio (Paul, owner of Body Leadership Australia who I highly recommend). So he and some of his staff were the only people I knew there. But it was still brilliant. I am glad I’ve reached a space in my life where I can attend such events and feel moderately comfortable (hopefully one day I’ll feel less awkward in social settings).

I am inspired … and the timing couldn’t be better because today is the first day since late October when my back hasn’t been sore. It’s still a little stiff but at least I’m no longer in pain.

Total: 5.5km walk and a totally inspiring afternoon.

2 responses to “I’m so inspired!!!

  1. What an inspiration. Great tips, too. So happy to hear your back feels better.

    • The thing I forgot to mention in my post is that William isn’t a professional or sponsored athlete. He got up every morning to run his marathon before going to work all day then coming home to raise money for Young Care and spend time with his wife. He then got up the next day and did it all again.

Leave a Reply

