First session of the new year

Sun salutations

Sun salutations

Today is the first day of my journey to running a 100 miler. At this stage, that’s my ultimate running goal. The distance is calling me the way The Landy is called by Everest. I’ve spent the full southern hemisphere spring in rehabilitation mode but since this morning my physio and I have switched to ‘moving forward’ mode.

I have to give Paul Trevethan at Body Leadership Australia a big shout out because he’s been wonderful. From the moment I walked into his clinic he listened to my needs, fears and frustrations. He’s responded to my text messages asking for help and he’s squeezed me in when I’ve urgently needed his healing hands. He’s never told me I couldn’t do anything but has been honest about the areas of my body I need to look after (and he’s never said “I told you so” when I failed to listen).

Tonight I did my stretching routine for the first time since October. I also did two rounds through the Hatha Yoga Sun Salutations. I only did them gently and tentatively but it’s a start. I start yoga classes on Tuesday 18 December and have already told my instructor about my SIJ so she’s going to help me avoid exercises that might flare it up.

I have also done three sets of five exercises each of my pilates exercises: setting my stomach, clams, knee raises, rocking my knees side-to-side and hip raises. My core strength is terrible. But I am practicing these basic moves until I start pilates classes on Monday 17th December with my physio’s wife (also through Body Leadership Australia). The great thing about taking pilates classes with my physio’s wife is that she will know my limitations and core strength needs.

My physio is looking at ordering me a sacroiliac joint brace and has taped me up in the interim. It’s all systems slowly shifting into “go”. I’m being careful not to overdo it and will continue to be guided by both my body and my physio. But it feels good to be making the first step towards my 100 miler goal. A goal that might take a while to reach but one that promises an interesting journey.

6 responses to “First session of the new year

  1. I hope it all works out for you πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Sally. I think that with my renewed positive attitude I will find a way to make it work for me. I have all the right people in my life to support me to success (whatever success might look like for me) so the future will be bright (though, as Dr Seuss says in Oh The Places You’ll Go there will be times when things get tough and I just have to push through).

  2. I like your 100 mile goal! There is nothing quick like running a 100 miles. I’m excited to read your blog posts about your progress towards this goal. Also, I like the new look for your blog.

    • Thanks Dallan. I am enjoying the new blog layout too. And I just signed up for Flickr so have linked in my Flickr feed just for kicks πŸ™‚

      I like the 100 mile goal too. It’s sufficiently large to take a while but also sufficiently achievable to make it possible. πŸ™‚

  3. Looking forward to reading about your journey to the 100 miler!

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I am looking forward to my journey there. Who knows, I might find my very own Hari to train with when the time comes so I too don’t have to do long runs alone

Leave a Reply

