Morning swim

Morning swim by Andrew Gills
Morning swim, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I am rediscovering the joys of swimming. I suspect part of the rediscovery is related to summer really kicking into gear now, with overnight temperatures in the mid-twenties (Celcius), and daytime temperatures well and truly sitting in the thirties. There’s little more inviting than the clear water of a swimming pool. Even for me, someone who likes to get my feet wet but prefers the rest of me to stay dry.

This morning I swam at Mum’s house. I did a short 1,100m session, which only took about 20 minutes. I guess it’s a recovery session. I swam:

  • 300m freestyle warm up using my pull buoy
  • 200m catch-up freestyle drill
  • 100m breast stroke
  • 200m freestyle
  • 100m open water drill (six strokes head under water, six strokes head above water)
  • 100m breast stroke
  • 100m freestyle using pull buoy.

I focused on turning my hips when I breath and on having a strong underwater pull. The session felt good.

Given that the only swimming event I have coming up is the 400m swim leg of a triathlon that I’m doing as a team with a friend, I don’t have to stress too much about distance in swimming training. I just need to turn my arms over and enjoy the cool, clean water.

Total: 1,100m swim

Leave a Reply

