Aargh me hearties

Aargh me hearties by Andrew Gills
Aargh me hearties, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

My work had our Christmas party today. Rather than sitting around getting drunk in a bar or staring at each other across a dinner table, we always do something fun and active for our break-up day. In 2010 we went on a 4WD tour to Stradbroke Island where we also spent time playing on the beach. Last year we did a high ropes course. And today, we went to Bribie Island to do a tandem bicycle scavenger hunt. And just to add to the fun, each team of riders dressed up in costumes for the event.

I was in Team Pirate. We swashbuckled our way through the clues to earn a total 35.5 points, riding 18km in the process. It was enough for us to fight our way to first place and take home the bounty (a box each of Cadbury Favourites – I have already eaten mine and the event only finished less than three hours ago). We were as stealthy as elephants as we called out on our voyage around the island: “argh me hearties” and “argh throw out the anchors”.

The course we chose had us enjoying views of the clear Pumicestone Passage waters and the yachts anchored in the island’s shelter. We discovered places of historical significance, a meditation garden and three bird hides. It was hot and sweaty work. And I have to say that it was kind of strange being on the back of the tandem because I had no control over where we went. But it was fun to sometimes be sneaky by lifting my feet of the pedals and giggling at the silly senselessness of my sneakiness. I mean, if you are on the back of a tandem, you’re not getting the most out of the experience if you don’t occasionally play the fool and lift your feet. πŸ˜‰

The party was a load of fun and I enjoyed a lot of laughs.

Total: 18km tandem cycling

2 responses to “Aargh me hearties

  1. What a great way to celebrate Christmas at the office! Argh!

Leave a Reply

