Bikeway cruise

Bikeway cruise by Andrew Gills
Bikeway cruise, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

My favourite cycling buddy is definitely my mum. When we ride together it’s always relaxed and enjoyable. She is always enthusiastic about exploring new routes and never turns a pleasant ride into a workout. Riding also gives us a chance to catch up and chat.

This morning, Mum picked me up from my place at 5:45am and we drove to the Bulimba Creek Cycleway at Belmont. The cycleway is a long paved route that follows, you guessed it, Bulimba Creek. We followed the bikeway north to connect with the Moreton Bay Cycleway, an as-yet incomplete route that will connect Redland Bay to Redcliffe.

The Moreton Bay Cycleway took us up over the Gateway Bridge. The views over the water at the top of the bridge were delightful. We looked out over sailing boats and sand dredgers moored in the shelter of a river bend, a marina of large yachts, a group of paddlers rowing outrigger canoes downstream and a large tug boat sailing

We continued north to Northgate where we joined the Kedron Brook Cycleway, which we followed into the city. I used to ride this trail into the city when I lived in Chermside so I knew my way quite well. We enjoyed the sunshine and the sight of the newly landscaped brook.

After riding through Roma Street and Southbank Parklands looking for a cafe, we continued to Stones Corner where we finally found somewhere to stop and enjoy a well-deserved hot beverage and sweet muffin. We talked about my partner and my decision to sell our house and move to the city. And about the practical and financial things we need to sort out to have the best chance of selling our house in the current market (which in our area is depressed but seems stable for those who are realistic about sale prices).

After coffee we rode down Old Cleveland Road back to the Bulimba Cycleway and Mum’s ute. It was just perfect. I was glad I rode my mountain bike because it meant I could ride on the grass to talk with Mum while she rode on the pathway.

Total: 46.13km cycle

Leave a Reply

