CityCycling Brisbane

Oh so Brisbane

Oh so Brisbane

I was going to paddle with a local canoe club this morning but decided to sleep in then have breakfast with my partner instead. Besides, I won’t be able to paddle with the club regularly for a while due to my event schedule. But that doesn’t mean I lazed around all day. Nope, I went into the city to ride around on a CityCycle.

Themis guarding the new court precinct

Themis guarding the new court precinct

Crazy businessman statue

Crazy businessman statue

My partner and I are participating in the City Raid scavenger hunt / rogaine on 8 February. It’s an urban event that will be held in the city CBD. To help make the event a bit easier for us, I spent today mentally mapping as many of the city’s statues and historical places as possible. This will help us when we have to decypher the City Raid clues. And boy does our city have a lot of statues and historical places.

Hiding in the fig trees

Hiding in the fig trees

I also took the time to enjoy the scenery my city has to offer. We have ancient fig trees taking up a small triangular block at the wealthy end of town. They are almost defiant against the development and wealth that has replaced what was there when they were first planted many many decades ago. Back then, Eagle Street was dominated by Brisbane’s port but today it’s all top tier legal and consultancy firms.

A maritime river city

A maritime river city

From the fig trees I ride through the botanic gardens, stopping along the way to learn more about some more historical buildings. Buildings dating back to the late 1800s are tucked away between high rises, protected by the National Trust but almost invisible to the average passer by who is more likely to notice the sun’s reflections on the shiny glass and steel modern architecture surrounding the faded small heritage buildings.

Once in the botanic gardens I’m glad for the shade of the trees. It’s 35’C (95’F) so to say it’s hot would be obvious. But still, it’s stinking hot so the shade of the trees is luxurious. I ride out across to the southern side of the river, crossing the Goodwill Bridge (I’ve never warmed to that name). After finding a spot to part my CityCycle bike I take advantage of Brisbane’s man-made beach by taking a swim at Southbank. It’s crowded and I didn’t bring my swimming togs but I don’t care; I just jump in wearing my shorts. I am sure I sizzle a bit as my body comes into contact with the water.

Free deck chairs in the park

Free deck chairs in the park

I love that my city is becoming increasingly life friendly. There’s the beach at Southbank and BBQs scattered around the various city parks. And now, we have deck chairs you can sit on in the park at the end of Southbank Parklands across the road from the cafes and apartments. They look so enticing, especially on a hot day. And they are free to use.

The city skyline

The city skyline

I complete my day out by riding under the Kangaroo Point Cliffs where I have a great view back at the city skyline (the trees on the other side of the river are the Botanic Gardens). Usually, the cliffs would be teeming with rock climbers on the weekend but today it’s so hot that even the most hardened cranker must be waiting until the sun sets. Yes, we have outdoor rock climbing in the heart of our city. The cliffs are about 15-20m high with a mix of top-rope and bolted routes. Most are top-rope and the council has even provided anchoring bollards.

I had a brilliant day out. I feel like I’ve run a marathon due to the heat but I only cycled just under 25km. Though I was out in the sun for about 5 hours riding, swimming and studying the monuments, statues and historical sites.

Total: 24.92km bicycle ride on the CityCycle.

Leave a Reply

