Long ride to think about stuff

Ford Road by Andrew Gills
Ford Road, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I set off into the darkness, pedaling out in a direction yet to be determined. It’s rather metaphorical for where my life is at right now; heading in a direction yet to be determined.

This ride isn’t about the scenery but about the time I need to think things through. There’s a lot going on in my head right now. Simple dreams I pushed aside because I thought that I was expected to do ‘more’ with my life. I have opened a can of worms recently by starting to talk about those dreams. A scary can because I know the coming years are going to force me to choose between financial security and answering a call I have felt in my heart most of my life. While it’s easy to say ‘follow your heart’, I have to consider my partner and son’s financial needs too; not just my own.

So the long ride gave me a chance to think about things. I’m not yet ready to find the answer but at least I am finally open to considering my options.

Total: 59.4km road cycle

4 responses to “Long ride to think about stuff

  1. Hope that the ride helps you to get the space in your mind to make up your mind and choose what you want. You only get one life. You don’t need me to tell you that. I’m here to listen if you want to let off steam.

    • The ride did help Vixx. I agree so much about only having one life. Sometimes I get caught up in the day-to-day like so many other people do. Am currently trying to work out a plan for my future – one that will work for my heart.

      Thanks so much for all the tips about my legs. Hoping to get you some more photos later today.

  2. Sounds exciting. Can’t wait to hear more. Follow your bliss, mate!

    • Thank you. It is exciting and scary all at once. Will take some time to eventuate. Just waiting at the moment to find out whether I have been accepted into a Bachelors of Adult and Vocational Education. Hope to hear by the end of next week. Have my fingers crossed. Am also considering doing a Graduate Certificate in Human Services – perhaps the university will let me do that as my elective units for the Bachelors degree (I already have two other undergraduate degrees so meet the entry requirements for the Graduate Certificate)

Leave a Reply

