After the storms

Dawn after the storm by Andrew Gills
Dawn after the storm, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

As some readers might be aware, South-East Queenslanders spent the Australia Day long weekend being belted by heavy rains and cyclonic winds. I am pleased to report that my family and I are all okay. We have experienced some inconvenience, I spent yesterday cutting up five large 10-20m tall trees that fell on my property and my family are going into their third day without electricity, but nothing worth getting excited about. The same can’t be said for many people who have experienced flooding at their homes or businesses, and my thoughts are with them today as they wait to see the damage caused at high tide.

After five days rest, I was itching to get out of the house this morning. I decided to avoid the roads due to the high volume of debris around. Instead, I spent an hour mountain biking in the bush.

The high winds have caused so much tree fall that I spent more time shifting logs and carrying my bike than I did riding. But it was still fantastic to be out enjoying the bush instead of cooped up inside.

Total: 10.78km MTB

4 responses to “After the storms

  1. Glad to hear you and your loved ones are okay. Look at those trails!

  2. Like Mind Margins, glad to hear all is ok if a little annoying! I thought of you when they were reporting the horrible weather you are having on the news. Stay safe!!!

Leave a Reply

