A few days in Perth

Cathedral in Perth

Cathedral in Perth

I’m back home after a few days over on Australia’s west coast in Perth for work. Other than Tuesday morning’s swim and an awful lot of walking, I didn’t do any real training while I was over there. I was hoping to go out running last night but had no energy. It wasn’t until I was halfway home on the plane today that I realised I had forgotten to take my testosterone tablets yesterday and today. That would have caused my fatigue. Here’s some photos from my half-week in Perth.

Pancakes with fruit and blueberry compote (I didn't eat the cream)

Pancakes with fruit and blueberry compote (I didn’t eat the cream)

We started Monday morning by eating out for breakfast. Our flight landed at midnight the night before so there wasn’t enough time to go to the grocery shop for food, which is what I usually do when I travel because I hate buying breakfast. But these pancakes, blueberry compote and fruit salad were delicious. But there’s no way I could eat the cream for breakfast.

Bike art

Bike art

As always, I had to take photos of the street art.

It'd be scary to see the dinosaur drunk ;)

It’d be scary to see the dinosaur drunk đŸ˜‰

And the silly things that one sees when traveling in big cities.

Heirisson Island monument

Heirisson Island monument

The official monuments and statues were also fantastic. This strong man stands guard on Heirisson Island.

Morning tea ... Even got a tea cosy

Morning tea … Even got a tea cosy

I found a fantastic (though expensive) cafe in East Victoria Park where they even served the tea with a knitted tea cosy. The pear and vanilla cake with ice cream was divine.

Pizza and green beans. Yum

Pizza and green beans. Yum

More pizza

More pizza

We also found a fantastic Italian restaurant, Cafe Italia. It’s an unassuming old place in East Perth that I’ve walked past a hundred times during the daytime when I’ve been in Perth and never thought to go there. But this week I walked past in the evening and the place was packed. So we went there two nights in a row for fantastic pizza. The first night I was desperate for vegetables so ordered a big plate of green beans to go with my pizza. The second night, we shared two pizzas between three of us.

Leave a Reply

