Riding in a midgie cloud

Midgies ... madness by Andrew Gills
Midgies … madness, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

It’s been raining cats and dogs again here in Brisbane. It rains when I wake up. It is dark outside during the day as heavy rain falls. And it rains when I go to bed at night.

I was hoping to go road riding today but I value my safety so decided not to. It’s not that I’m going to melt in the rain but our rain falls in sheets, reducing visibility greatly.

Instead, I grabbed my MTB and hit the trails. After riding through the deep water puddles in the grass field, I rode straight into a wall of midgies that quickly turned into a massive cloud that hung over the whole bush.

I should remember to wear insect repellant more often. Though perhaps there wouldn’t have been any strong enough to stop me getting covered from head to toe with tiny little critters.

My ride was good fun. I splashed through creeks and single tracks that had turned into waterways. I got axle deep on many occasions and my knees even got wet through one creed. It was fabulous.

Until I got home and had to spend 15 minutes in the shower trying to wash all the midgies off my skin. I almost resorted to shaving my body hair because they didn’t seem to be washing off. I’m still picking midgies out of my eyes tonight as I write this post. Classic.

Total: 18.13km MTB

8 responses to “Riding in a midgie cloud

  1. Geez, they’ll carry you away…

  2. That’s the first time I’ve heard midgies used as the reason cyclists shave their legs! πŸ˜‰

  3. Euuurggh! I can’t look at them!

Leave a Reply

