A morning of stretching

Calf stretch by Andrew Gills
Calf stretch, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I have a confession to make: I have been neglecting my stretching sessions. It’s not that I haven’t been stretching, because I have been lunging, rotating my ankles and holding my heel to my buttocks at every available opportunity (including when I’m speaking with people). But I haven’t set aside time for a decent stretching session in over a week.

My right leg is feeling tight today, particularly the outside of my shin and ankle. So this morning, instead of cycling to work, I spent an hour stretching, rolling and triggering my legs and glutes, particularly the right one.

I am enjoying my stretching and my goal for 2013 is to be able to touch my toes (nope, I honestly can’t touch my toes). I stretch more now than ever before (I never used to stretch at all) but hopefully I can find more time to do proper stretching sessions or a way to stretch while I study.

6 responses to “A morning of stretching

  1. I second this confession. Need to get focused with stretching again !

  2. Stretching (yoga for me) makes a world of difference. I neglected it for years and it makes me feel so much better now, and stronger in running.

    • I have tried yoga a few times. For some reason, it doesn’t click for me. I can’t put my finger on it. I wish it did though because my flexibility improved overnight when I did it.

      I am definitely noticing improvements in my form and fitness with the stretching I have introduced to my life. I can only imagine how great things would be if I was more disciplined.

  3. I’m back to bikram yoga for my dose of stretching!

Leave a Reply

