Things I see when I’m out walking

Disgusting worm by Andrew Gills
Disgusting worm, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

Mum and I went bushwalking near home this morning. The birds were singing in the trees and the creeks were running clear.

But the bush was also alive with creepy crawlies like spiders, mosquitoes and this giant worm.

I upped the weight in my pack to 13kg this morning by throwing some of my motorbike gear into it. I found the weight quite manageable.

Total: 6.1km bushwalk with 13kg pack

8 responses to “Things I see when I’m out walking

  1. That is quite the worm!

  2. It looks like a snake. Actually, I did see a snake when I was in the bush in Oz and it scared the living crap out of me. We stared at each other and then it slithered down a hole.

    • You can distinguish it from a snake because in real life (not so much the photo), the worm looks kind of naked while a snake has a jacket of scales. Also, snakes have those beady eyes you are talking about. We’ve seen a few small snakes out on our adventures recently; they scare the holey moleys out of me too.

  3. Yuck. Worms are beneficial, especially in my garden, but yuck nevertheless.

    • They are beneficial to the soil and gardens aren’t they. I don’t mind picking up and moving the ones in my garden; but there’s no way I was touching this big monster worm 🙂

Leave a Reply

