Becoming a Scout Leader

Two months ago, I embarked on a new element of my outdoor adventure journey. I entered a world that was totally foreign to me. A world I had often heard about but which had remained a mystery. I decided to see whether I would like to be a Scout Leader.

It started quite innocently. I was searching the internet to see whether there was any meaningful, fun and ongoing volunteer work available in my community. It’s not that I don’t have enough on my plate, what with work, uni, my monthly Justice of the Peace obligations and endurance racing. But I just felt called to look for something.

I didn’t know what I was looking for until I stumbled across my local Scout Group’s website. There it was in black and white: “Assistant Leaders needed for immediate start. No experience. Self-paced training.” It didn’t take me long to fire off an email. And, seemingly instantly, I received a response from the Group Leader inviting me to come meet with herself and the leader of the Scout section.

I did some research. I watched YouTube clips, and read a range of websites and blogs. From what I found, Scouting looked like a lot of fun, not just for Youth Members but also for Leaders.

I started with minimal commitment. I just attended a couple of Scout meetings and a Group Council to see whether the format appealed to me. The Scout meetings were great fun. Tents were pitched, canoes were set up on dry land so the Scouts could practice their paddling strokes, plans were made for camps and discussions were held about hikes. Before I knew it, I was choosing a Scout name and signing an application for membership.

Last week, my application for membership was approved and I was given my Scout membership number. I’ve ordered my uniform and started the eLearning component of my leader training. On Saturday, I’m going to my first Scout camp. I won’t be staying overnight because I have a race on Sunday. But I’m looking forward to taking this next step into what was previously a mysterious world: Scouts. And I’m quite proud of my personal decision to share my outdoor skills and experiences with tomorrow’s outdoors men and women.

(I didn’t train today. I decided to do some stretching and get back into the exercise tomorrow. I didn’t want to risk returning to training too quickly after the weekend because I am very aware of how I pushed things last year and ended up injured.)

7 responses to “Becoming a Scout Leader

  1. I loved both brownies and boy scouts here in a America which I assume is like what you are embarking on…..My Dad was a boy scout leader and always took me to all the meetings. Good Luck and have fun!

    • Yes. It is exactly the same. We just call it Scouts in Australia but it’s the same as Boy Scouts (we have girls but I think all over the world has girls now too). I’m with the Scouts section (11-14yo) but our group also has Joeys (6-8yo), Cubs (9-10yo), Venturers (15-18yo) and Rangers (18-26yo).

  2. Hi there! I’m a cub scout leader from Australia (just signed up in September last year!) and I also just finished a training weekend. In fact, on my blog I’ve written up some of the stories from my weekend (including but not limited to the actual training itself, the delicious and disasterous culinary experiences on the weekend and some run-ins with the wildlife at Gilwell!)

    Did you know that of the twelve people who have walked on the moon, eleven were scouts? Keep up the good work, Andrew! I’ll be waiting to hear more of your scouting adventures! πŸ™‚

    Deanna (aka Shada to the cubs), Little Blonde Lionheart

    • Hey Deanna,

      Just checked out your blog and am following. I haven’t done any training weekends yet but have a few camps coming up. I’ve just started working through the eLearning modules.

      That’s really interesting about the people walking on the moon who were Scouts. I did not know that.

      • Yes, I had the option to do eLearning too, but unless I was actually tied to the desk to do it, I wouldn’t find time for it. Hence I booked in for a weekend of face-to-face training which covers the same topics. πŸ™‚

        I haven’t been on a camp yet, and unfortunately I won’t be able to attend our district pack holiday as my Antioch youth group has a camp that weekend too! Too many camps, not enough weekends methinks!

        Thanks for the follow πŸ™‚ Right back at ya!

        Deanna

Leave a Reply

