Life can end at any time – make the most of now

Prayers for Boston

Like many others, I woke this morning to news of the bombs that exploded at the Boston Marathon. As a runner and sportsman, my thoughts today are with all those who have been affected by the cowardly attack.

What do tragedies like this mean for those of us not personally affected? What can we do to honour those who lost their lives today? Here’s my personal list:

  • never let the last thing you said to anyone you love be a harsh word
  • tell your family you love them
  • when you pray for Boston, remember to say a prayer of gratitude that you and yours saw the dawn today
  • and, most importantly … LIVE life like the gift it is.

We can never have those we lost back. But we can honour their memories by being true to ourselves and living our lives. When we get up in the morning, let’s remember to ask ourselves three questions:

  1. If today is my last day, what do I want to be doing?
  2. If today is my last day, what do I want to be remembered for saying?
  3. What one positive action can I take today to make tomorrow better for me, my family and my world?

Our answers don’t have to be big. For me, this morning, after I heard the news of Boston, this is what my answers were:

  1. I want to ride my bicycle. So I rode my bicycle to work and stopped to take a photo along the way, despite it making me arrive at work late.
  2. I want to be remembered for saying something positive. So I am going to watch my words today.
  3. My positive action is to tell my partner I love her, to perform my job to the best of my ability and to be happy because happiness is infectious.
The photo I took on my commute to work

The photo I took on my commute to work

No mileage counter today because the miles don’t seem important today. Today is about honouring those we pray for in Boston.

4 responses to “Life can end at any time – make the most of now

  1. Thanks, Australia. It is a sad day for our country.

  2. I had 15 friends who ran Boston on Monday. All finished before the explosions and all are safe, though shaken and very sad.

    • I am glad to hear they are safe. I hope they all are able to continue running. It must be a devastating thing to experience, especially at a time when you are totally depleted (after running the marathon).

Leave a Reply

