Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane – Come along as a volunteer

It’s just 6 weeks until the Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane, and the good folks at Oxfam are keen to hear from anyone who is free to volunteer during the event. There are plenty of different roles available, from checkpoint or trail marshal, to logistics or IT, and even trail marking or sweeping. You don’t need to be free for the whole weekend. Most shifts seem to be about 8 hours long and you can nominate any time that is suitable to you.

I was a volunteer for three shifts over two days last year and wrote about my experiences here on my blog:

And here’s some pictures to prove I enjoyed the experience:

Flashing my light sabre while helping park cars at Registration

Flashing my light sabre while helping park cars at Registration

Stirring the Gu with a massive paddle

Stirring the Gu with a massive paddle

Not only was the experience fun, but it was also intensely inspiring to see all those teams out walking 100km to raise money for a worthwhile charity. One that is close to my heart because it is but for the grace of God that my four grandchildren are safely living here in Australia not in war-torn Sudan, the country their mother escaped as a 12yo girl. When I look at my daughter-in-law and grandchildren, it brings home just how important it is to support charities that work to provide the developing world with resources to have the basic things we take for granted: food production, water and shelter.

This year I’ll be volunteering as a course setter all day Thursday 13 June before support crewing for my sister’s team from Friday.

If you are free to give some time and energy to Oxfam for the Trailwalker Brisbane 2013, click here to learn more and register.

Leave a Reply

