MTB pleasure

The birthday candles are starting to bloom, confirming what the air is already telling us: winter is coming soon. The bright yellow banksia flowers formed little highlights in the otherwise green bushland as I rode my mountain bike along the trails this morning.

As is becoming usual, I started my ride in darkness, riding quickly along the fire trails to the place where I found a new single track the other morning.

The new single track is fantastic. A more experienced rider would enjoy the thrill of the bomb holes, berms, log drop offs, bump tracks and big jumps that have been created on the gently sloping ride. At first I followed the trail from where I joined it to one end, which was 2.5km away. I didn’t get a good change to explore the track in the other direction so am not sure how far it extends.

At the end of the new single track, I had the choice of following the fire trails for a loop or joining a different single track about 50m away. I opted for the fire trails because I was short on time and I wanted to get some confidence jumping the erosion bumps down some of the fire trail hills (I am enjoying the whole getting air thing).

It was a good way to start the day and I worked up quite a sweat.

Total: 10.6km MTB

6 responses to “MTB pleasure

  1. Ohhhh I love the birthday candles, they’re beautiful!

    • They are, aren’t they. They are quite common here. The Banksia bushes look quite scraggly the rest of the year but once the flowers come out, they are stunning

  2. And up here summer is coming… Amazing world 🙂

    • It is amazing isn’t it. All summer (for me) I’ve been enjoying the photos of the northern winter and now things will be reversed (though our winter here in Brisbane is much like summer where many other people live)

  3. You can’t beat the MTB for being one with nature on a ride. Glad it was a good one Andrew! – Simone 🙂

Leave a Reply

