5km run

I had a busy weekend so didn’t get a chance to get out and do much in the outdoors. I even withdrew from the 200km Audax cycling event I was meant to do on Saturday. Between babysitting my sisters’ kids and starting the first of two assignments that I have due this month, I decided that trying to train would not be sensible. So I stayed indoors (other than a 5km walk with my partner on Saturday) behind my laptop letting my body recover from all the extra running I’ve been doing lately.

This morning I went for an easy 5km trot. It’s amazing how I’m finding 5km to be short now that I’ve started doing some longer runs in my preparation for the Brisbane Marathon. Not that I’ve done anything seriously long yet, but I have mapped out a 19.5km route for Friday morning.

This month I just want to stick to the marathon training schedule, get my assignments done and stay sane. I think that trying to do much more than that would set me up for a miserable time or burn out. Though I do have a very cool weekend coming up with Scout camp on Friday night and Saturday, then the Adventure Race Australia on Sunday. I just better get my assignment done first (I work full-time so it’s going to be a challenge).

Total: 5km road run

5 responses to “5km run

  1. I look forward to the day that a 5k feels short to me. Keep up the good work!

  2. I have to agree with you. I used to struggle running a 5k. Ever since I started longer runs, 5k runs seem so short. Keep up the good work! Happy Runnings!

    • Thank you 🙂 I am going for a 19km run tomorrow. It seems daunting so I have already set out a route that feels shorter than it is. I can’t wait until a 20km run seems normal instead of epic 🙂

Leave a Reply

