Taking stock for the second half of 2013

Old faithful by Andrew Gills
Old faithful, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I’ve had a fantastic five months of racing since January, both as an individual and as part of team Whoops Witch Way. I’ve achieved all the goals I set for myself and many more. Now, with winter setting in, it’s time for me to get back to take stock and refocus on some new goals for the second half of 2013.

I took a total rest day yesterday to recharge my batteries. I didn’t do any training, work, university study or social commitments. Rather, I slept, watched television and surfed the internet.. It was just grand.

So, what are the bones on which the second half of 2013 will be built?

  • On 2 July I leave for a 12 day solo hike along the 250km Great North Walk from Sydney to Newcastle
  • On 3 August, I will be running the Brisbane Marathon with the goal of taking lots of photos and enjoying about 5 hours out on the course
  • On 15-16 November, team Whoops Witch Way hope to tackle the Dark Side 18 hour adventure race (if we can find a third team member)
  • In December (I have to fix a date this week before the cheap airfares get booked out), I will be flying to Launceston (Tasmania) to bike pack the 480km Tasmanian Trail.

So the next 5-6 months promise a little less racing but a lot more camping, hiking and bike packing adventures (my partner is buying me a bike packing kit from a local supplier).

To kick start it this morning, I loaded 11.5kg of gear into my hiking pack and went on a 5km walk with my partner. I think I might try to keep doing these pack walks leading up to the Great North Walk so I am fit and strong to carry all my gear for the 12 days.

Total: 5km walk with 11.5kg pack

4 responses to “Taking stock for the second half of 2013

  1. Wow, it sounds like you have an amazing second half of the year planned!!!! I know you will knock it out of the park!

  2. Hi Andrew,
    If you are looking for a starter for the 18 hr Darkside AR I am interested. I met you briefly at the Adventuregaine and have done the Darkside in 2011.
    I can’t fully commit to the dates yet but am very interested if you think I might suit your team philosophy and approach.
    Living at Wellington Point I am close enough that we could get on some trails together beforehand.
    Cheers

    Scott

    • Sounds great Scott. We’ll have to catch up for a ride sometime in the coming months. Probably after I get back from the Great North Walk because I just want to take things slow for a few weeks before I head off (especially after I get my last uni assignment for the semester submitted this week).

      I’ve bought some topographic maps of the Bayside area so that should open up lots of new MTB trails and adventures too 🙂

Leave a Reply

