Walking with my partner

I'm such a sensible man ... not

I’m such a sensible man … not

I have the day off today to spend time with my partner (she’s a shift / weekend worker). We started our day with a delightful 5km walk around our neighbourhood. It’s a fantastic chance for us to catch up on all we’ve missed in the week that we’ve been like ships passing through the night.

The wallaby that lives in our street

The wallaby that lives in our street

Thanks to my new digital camera, I managed to capture a photo of the wallaby that lives in our street. I think it’s the first wallaby / kangaroo photo I’ve managed to share here on this Australian blog.

A "poop tree"

A “poop tree”

It’s winter so the wattles are starting to bloom and the old wattles are starting to grow “poop”. I know there’s probably a scientific and botanical explanation for these ugly growths but to me they’ve always made me think of “poop” so I call these trees “poop trees”. I couldn’t resist taking a photo.

The scrub turkey's nest

The scrub turkey’s nest

We have a scrub turkey who is building a nest. Last year he built a mammoth mound but didn’t have any success in breeding (though we do believe he might have found a mate). This year he’s trying again. Scrub turkeys build big mounds of leaf litter and bark. The turkeys themselves aren’t that big, last year, this bird’s mound was about 60cm (2′) high and 3m (10′) across.

The leaf litter the scrub turkey is stealing for his nest

The leaf litter the scrub turkey is stealing for his nest

To create his mound, the scrub turkey ‘steals’ leaf litter and mulch from far and wide. All the leaf litter on the path has been scratched there by our local turkey and will all find its way onto the mount. Last year, the turkey took mulch from the gardens across the road from here and scratched it all the way across to it’s nest too.

Total: 5km walk

8 responses to “Walking with my partner

  1. I’d love to go out for a walk in my neighbourhood and find a wallaby! I think my suburb currently has a resident possum but that’s pretty much as wild as it gets!

  2. I love your neighborhood, it looks just beautiful!!!!

  3. I never see wallabys around MY house! Or luckily, for that matter, poop trees….

    Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

