Food for Great North Walk

14 breakfasts, soups, dinners and puddings

14 breakfasts, soups, dinners and puddings

On Tuesday, it will be just two weeks until I leave on my 14 day Great North Walk hike. Today, I went shopping for food and then spent about four hours sorting it all into plastic bags. So here’s my menu:

Breakfasts

  • 14 x porridge with fruits and nuts

The mix of fruits and nuts are all different. The fruit is comprised of various combinations of figs, dates, cranberries, blueberries, sultanas, raisins, apples, apricots and pears. These are mixed with nuts, either peanuts, slivered almonds or pistachios. I’ve included powdered milk in the mix so it will be lovely and creamy. And I bought a tube of honey to add as needed.

Soups

  • 2 x miso soup
  • 1 x beef noodle soup
  • 3 x cinnamon beef soup
  • 3 x tomato and lentil soup
  • 2 x mushroom barley soup
  • 3 x coconut curry soup

Each soup has a small quantity of noodles (either rice, egg or hokkein) and two tablespoons of dried vegetables (corn, peas and carrots). The beef soups have jerkey in them and some of the others have dried mushrooms in them.

Dinners

  • 2 x beef pasta
  • 3 x mashed potatoes with beef
  • 3 x ginger noodles
  • 2 x tomato pasta
  • 2 x curried fish rice
  • 2 x goblin’s gate lentils

Each dinner includes dried vegetables (corn, peas, carrots, mushrooms and/or tomatoes) and carbohydrates (pasta, noodles, rice or lentils). Some are vegetarian while others contain meat-based protein (jerkey or dried anchovies). The pasta dishes include shelf-stable Parmesan cheese.

Puddings

  • 5 x chocolate custard
  • 5 x semolina pudding
  • 4 x vanilla custard
14 days snacks, lunches, fruit and drinks

14 days snacks, lunches, fruit and drinks

Lunches

  • 2 x crackers with tuna
  • 3 x crackers with chocolate paste
  • 1 x crackers with jam
  • 1 x crackers with vegemite
  • 7 x crackers with shelf-stable cheese

Snacks

  • 12 x museli bars (different flavours)
  • 12 x Milo bars
  • 12 x Organic Food bars
  • 12 x squeeze tubes of pureed fruit (from the baby food aisle of my supermarket)
  • 4 x oat cakes

I love my fruit and can’t bear to go 14 days without it. Dried fruit just isn’t a substitute for the taste of fresh apples. About a year ago, I discovered that baby food manufacturers make squeeze tubes of pureed fruit that contain no numbers in the ingredient list. They are a revolution and so worth the extra grams.

Drinks

  • 8 x Earl Grey tea
  • 8 x chai tea
  • 14 x lemon-line Staminade

The total weight of my food bag is 11.5kg, which isn’t bad for 14 days of hiking. It works out to less than 1kg per day. Though that also means my pack will only get lighter by less than 1kg every day too.

I have two days of extra food with me because I will have the option of buying food the first and last days, as well as on three or four other occasions along the track. But I don’t want to be worried about whether I will make it to shops or whether they will have lightweight food options available. I prefer to always carry two extra days food with me (or one extra day if only hiking overnight) just in case of emergency. I’ve never needed it so far; but the one time I don’t carry it will be the one time I have an emergency situation. Besides, this way I can have a huge feast on my final night.

Between cleaning out the support vehicle from yesterday’s Trailwalker (I didn’t want my sister and her husband to have to clean it out during their recovery day), packing for my hike and doing chores at home (I’m trying to get the house ready to sell), I didn’t have time to go running today. But I’m looking forward to a long slow lope tomorrow morning.

8 responses to “Food for Great North Walk

  1. A health issue has kept me sidelined from all running these past two weeks, with at least three more weeks to go, so walking only it is for me, hopefully with a little yoga added on in a week or so. I miss running, but am enjoying living an athletic life for the moment through your adventures, Andrew!

    • It’s sometimes good to have a period of forced rest. It helps us reset and refocus. Or at least, that’s what I try to tell myself when it happens to me. I hope your health issue isn’t too painful or uncomfortable and that you recover quickly. Last year when I was sidelined I was living vicariously through your training runs 🙂

  2. Wow that’s a lot of food! I am so looking forward to hearing all about your journey Andrew. I am so excited for you!

    • Haha. It looks like a lot but that’s just because it’s 14 days of meals. The only thing worse than wet weather is not bringing enough food and not having enough variety in the food you have with you on a hike. I’ve made that mistake before and learned from it.

  3. that is insane! insane that you’re doing a 14-day hike and also madness that you have that much food on you at once. good luck!!!!

  4. Pingback: Great North Walk gear pile | Transventure

Leave a Reply

