Cycling for Hope – 100km a day for 31 days to raise money for the Nakuru Hope Project

Kaptembwo slums near Nakuru, Kenya

Kaptembwo slums near Nakuru, Kenya

My parents have recently returned from Kenya where they volunteered with the Nakuru Hope Project. The project was established by Susan Saleeba, a Perth woman who, in 2010, bought half an acre of land near the Kaptembwo slums in Nakuru. Susan promised the locals that she would raise the funds to build a school and orphanage within 5 years. In the interim, she’s been using the land to grow food for the community and has been renting a house to run a prep school for children, and sewing and adult literacy classes for women who live in the slums. Susan has now raised the money to build the school, orphanage and women’s refuge. These will be completed by March 2014. But this means she will need 5 acres of land to grow enough food to feed the 200 children and so that local women can set up small food stalls so they can pay their rent and buy food for their children.

School children

School children

My parents were so affected by the project and how the Nakuru Hope Project is making a real difference to the community that they have committed to raising the $50,000 necessary to purchase 5 acres of land so the project can become self-sustainable. They are matching every dollar donated through the website they’ve set up from their private savings.

Cycling for Hope

Cycling for Hope

To help raise the money needed, I have decided to cycle 100km every day from 20 July – 19 August. That’s 3,100km of cycling in one month – more than the entire distance I cycled in 2012.I don’t have the luxury of taking time off work and university to complete my challenge so this will be a pretty epic month for me.

I’ll be sharing my rides on both my blog and the website my parents have set up to raise the $50,000 to buy land for the Nakuru Hope Project. My fundraising goal is a modest $2,000, which will be $4,000 towards the purchase of the land after my parents match every dollar I raise.

I will provide more updates in the coming week, including a page on the website below.

All donations are tax deductible and you’ll receive a receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid. 100% of all donations go to purchase the land – there are no overheads.

Graduates of the sewing classes

Graduates of the sewing classes

I hope you can support me in my ride to raise money for the Nakuru Hope Project.

Click here to sponsor me on my ride and to read more about the Nakuru Hope Project.

3 responses to “Cycling for Hope – 100km a day for 31 days to raise money for the Nakuru Hope Project

  1. Pingback: MTB dawn | Transventure

  2. Pingback: Cycling for Hope – Rules | Transventure

  3. If you are reading this page and want to follow my 31 days of cycling, you can click the CYCLING FOR HOPE link at the top of this page or you can follow me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/cyclingforhope

Leave a Reply

