Early morning run

Early morning run by Andrew Gills
Early morning run, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

It was cold and drizzly this morning. It would have been easy to stay in bed and enjoy the warmth of my doona.

But I’ve recently signed up to TribeSports.com (I’m @andrewgills) and I had signed up for both the ‘go for an early morning run’ and the ‘go for a run in the rain’ challenges. So I decided to harden up and get outdoors.

By the time I got my shoes on the rain had eased to a drizzle. I still put on my Goretex jacket to keep me warm and to keep the few remaining cold drops off my body. That worked well until about half an hour into my run when my body warmed up and I had to take the jacket off. Fortunately, I was wearing my trusty drink belt on so I could carry my jacket in the external cargo holder.

I ran slowly – taking my new philosophy that it’s better for me to do long miles slowly than to flog myself. Besides, my running goal for the 2013/14 season is to run a 100km trail run on 3-4 May 2014. So I need to get used to running long and slow – with patience. I also know my body’s limits because I’ve pushed them quite a bit in the past 12 months.

So I cruised along the road, walking up the hills and running the rest of the way. The rain just kept drizzling gently and the streetlights just kept glowing their eerie yellow light. They didn’t care how slowly I was running so neither did I.

Total: An oh so liberatingly slow 15km run

5 responses to “Early morning run

  1. I’ve always loved running in the rain, except when it is cold also. There’s a completely different nuance in the air.

    • I should love running in the rain given that I live in the sub-tropics but I actually really dislike it. I don’t like being wet. I think it’s the earthy Virgo in me. I love standing at the edge of water and watching it wash or fall against the earth but actually getting wet – bah, I’ll leave that to the Pisceans (I have a Piscean moon so I think that’s where I get my love of being near water but earthy Virgo won’t let me go in – actually, I have a really strong Virgo-Piscean opposition in my chart but now I’m getting sidetracked into an old hobby from years ago šŸ˜‰ )

      • kruzmeister

        Lol I’m a Leo so loving water when I am a fire sign kind of makes me an enigma I guess! šŸ™‚

  2. This Piscean loves running in a light rain. It truly is one of my favorite kinds of runs (as long as it isn’t winter).

Leave a Reply

