8km to clear my head

I got up this morning feeling rotten. There’s been a lot of stress in my professional life and it’s starting to wear me down. We all go through bad patches in our professional lives but, for some reason, knowing that fact doesn’t make things any easier.

Anyway, when my alarm went off this morning, I didn’t want to get out of bed because that would mean I’d have to go to work. So I lay in bed playing logic games on my mobile phone instead. After half an hour, I got up sullenly to do some work because I thought that might make me feel better.

But, before I had a chance to open the work files, I checked Tribesports.com to complete a few 7-day strength challenges I was working on (they are now complete). While I was logged on, I checked the ‘running on Tuesday’ challenges and found a 5 mile Tuesday run challenge.

I clicked ‘take the challenge’, checked Google maps to find an 8km (5 mile) running loop from home, got dressed and went outside. The 8km loop did me good. At first, I felt frustrated with the world and my running reflected this. But, as my head started to clear in the crisp winter air, I started to make decisions that will help me feel like I have some control of my professional life and my running started to improve.

Total: 8km road run

To follow me on TribeSports, look for @AndrewGills and I’ll follow you back

4 responses to “8km to clear my head

  1. Yay for you! 🙂

  2. I am addicted to Tribesports, it’s all your fault cause I found it on your blog!! Haha!! 😛

Leave a Reply

